We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment with fantastic views in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Living Area
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Sleeping Area
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Bathroom
Rockpool House Apartment Interior - Bathroom
Rockpool House Ariel View - To the house from the East above the loch shore
Rockpool House Ariel View - Over the house up the loch
Rockpool House Ariel View - Over the house down the loch
Rockpool House Ariel View - House beneath Ben Resipole
Rockpool House - Apartment and Main House
The light of a setting sun paints both the sky and water around Rockpool House with pink shades
Calm water and golden light of the evening makes for a tranquil scene of Loch Sunart
As the sun sets, the pinks and red subside and the blues appear as the evening's blue hour begins
The dawn of a new day at Rockpool house as the sun rises from behind Ben Resipole
Loch Sunart, by the apartment, just before sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tom54321m
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with fantastic views in a great spot.”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was perfect for our Christmas break, with all the facilities we needed. The owners are fantastic hosts with lots of knowledge of the area and great communication prior to our visit. Lovely to be somewhere so clean and nice that is also dog friendly. Will definitely be visiting again to see a different season.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Hi Tom,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas with us and we do hope to see you here again at some point in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes
Steven & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_W_12...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil escape with all home comforts”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fabulous week at Rockpool, a most beautiful quiet location overlooking a Loch with a backdrop of hills. A very fine view to look at whilst eating your porridge and drinking a cup of tea. If you are lucky you may spot an otter or a seal. The apartment is equipped to the highest of standards and the goodies we found on arrival added to the warm welcome we received. We spent the week exploring the peninsular on foot and by car, finding spectacular views and quiet beaches, only accessible on foot. Highlights were the beautiful Atlantic Oak woodlands, the walk to Singing Sands and the lochside walk from Salen Woods car park, close by the apartment. The village of Strontian has a well equipped village shop and cafe. Steven and Lynne were on hand if needed and to advise on walks. All in all a great week, and Rosie dog loved it too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Many thanks for giving us such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, found peace and relaxation and enjoyed the area, its walks, its views and its wildlife. It was our pleasure to make you feel welcome and offer help on walks, etc. when you were looking for it. Best Wishes Steven and Lynne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lferr
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Just home after an amazing week here. Such a beautiful area. We watched otters and seals from the window and the shoreline. We ate in lovely restaurants (Mingarry was amazing) we had lovely walks, we slept in a super comfy bed, we ate freshly baked bread, we searched for the aurora, we breathed clean fresh air, we relaxed. Highly recommend. Lynne and Steven are fabulous hosts with an amazing apartment.
The apartment has everything you could want: one of the comfiest beds I have slept in, all utensils you could possibly want, shower and a bath, it is very clean and there were a selection of nice touches like free range eggs, a loaf of bread and some provisions in the fridge. There are shops available a few miles east and west of the apartment and The Salen Jetty shop does excellent toastie for lunch also the venison burger from The Highlander cafe in Acharacle must be tried.
The view has to be mentioned again - you could not tire of that view.
We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review. We really appreciate the time you took to do it. It's great to hear that we made everything perfect for you and that you enjoyed your stay so much. It's also great to hear that you'll be back and we look forwarding to welcoming you here again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Steven & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoandSag...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything, plus a little extra provided!”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just stayed in this super apartment which has the benefit of a wonderful view from the large windows.
A warm welcome greeted us with homemade bread, eggs, milk, butter and cheese - plus a bottle of prosecco! There was plenty of tea and coffee in the cupboard plus kitchen extras (kitchen foil, cling film etc) provided.
The apartment is both comfortable and warm. Don't be put off by the colour of the water! It is safe to drink and bathe in! The brown hue is down to the peat apparently.
Steven and Lynne have found a great place to make their home and we shall recommend their apartment to anyone who wishes to explore the Ardnamurchan peninsula and if they can stay awake until it is really dark, the stars are stunning due to minimal light pollution!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Hi Folks,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review. It is very much appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are grateful for you recommending us to others. If they do come over the next few months, then they will be able to see the dark skies without staying up too late. Just now we can see the Milky Way out of the windows at the front of the house from about 10 o'clock.

Best Wishes

Steven & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0iramay
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best self catering in”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a find. Perfect apartment with added extras you can only dream about. Fresh bread freshly laid eggs to make but 2. Perfect viewand perfect rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found the apartment a perfect place to have a rest.

Best Wishes

Steven & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location and great hosts”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable accommodation with everything you could need. Lovely welcoming touches such as fresh bread and eggs from the chickens as well as Highland Soap Company toiletries. Fantastic view from the front window and perfect for wildlife watching. Friendly and welcoming hosts (including Fergus) and the perfect location if you have a dog that likes water! Well placed for visiting and exploring Ardnamurchan, whether you are looking for a relaxing break or a more energetic holiday. Would definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Hi Sarah,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review. It is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you back here soon.

All the best

Steven & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark p
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Rockpool house is a beautiful apartment with fantastic views. Steven and Lynne are excellent hosts , home made bread, butter, fresh eggs and a bottle of bubbly on arrival. The apartment has everything the holidaymaker needs. The outlying areas are also beautiful. Great photo opportunities almost everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Hi Mark, many thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back here in the not too distant future for some photo opportunities. Spring and Autumn are great for that.

Best Wishes
Steven and Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing