We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking, wholesome food, erratic but friendly service”
Review of Ariundle Centre

Ariundle Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home cooking, wholesome food, erratic but friendly service”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We ate here on a very wet and windy lunchtime in late October. The log burner struggled to lift the temperature but the food and the welcome helped lift the spirits. The soup was warming and definitely not from a packet. Tea (leaf not bagged) was served in china cups and saucers and was very much appreciated. the food was hot and freshly prepared, but the time taken to serve belied the number of people in the place, almost deserted, but very slow - although the staff were very friendly. Well priced and tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great meal in a lovely location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Myself, Jen and friends (14 of us) stayed in the bunkhouse accommodation nearby and ate here two nights. The second night was our final Corbett celebration meal and the hosts laid on a great three course meal, with fine ales and wine at good prices. The venue, just north of Strontian takes some getting to but the area is worth it. and the Ariundle centre a pleasant place to eat. Trips out from here up Ben Resipol and the other mountains are very popular, justly so. Equally to continue on the narrow road to Ardnamurchan Point (and the lighthouse cafe) well worth it in good weather. Somewhat easier to get there via teh Tobermory-Kilchoan ferry heowwever!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordicstar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Second Home”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We have been having wonderful dinners here for several years and we were not disappointed this time - except in that we were only able to visit on three evenings! Changing menus but the food is always freshly prepared to a high standard.
Slow and gentle is the pace in the Ariundle but that just gives you opportunity to converse and enjoy the beauty that abounds.
If you are in or around Strontian it is well worth seeking out this querky gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank ColinandTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“warm friendly place”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

after a day working then travelling to Ardnamurchan, wanted something nearby to grab some food. This was just up the road. I wasnt sure it was open at first as there were no cars in the car park and it seemed to be unlit, but I tried the door, and was hit by the heat from the stove. The staff were very friendly, and although the menu was basic, the food was plentiful and piping hot. The sticky toffee pudding was to die for. Would certainly eat there again - and just hope I wasnt the only person in there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice scones”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a quick coffee and scone here after enjoying a lovely walk around the nature reserve. Lovely looking place and the wood burner was a big draw. Unfortunately had to sit outside as we had the dog, but still quite nice. Lady who served us was friendly but it was not fast service by any means. Had started to think that she'd gotten lost but coffee and scones arrived eventually. The scones were really good. Overall, not a bad place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LickyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ariundle Centre also viewed

 
Acharacle, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Ariundle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing