We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home”
Review of Ariundle Centre

Ariundle Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Tucked away down a quiet lane is this homely centre. Surrounded by beautiful scenery and given a warm welcome by the hosts we enjoyed home cooking using fresh ingredients with a helpful cook able to cater for my food intolerances.
If your passion is crafts there is an excellent shop with genuine hand produced articles and all manner of all things woolly, you can even learn to spin!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayfieldsAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Strontian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing and worse than previous years”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Not a good experience unfortunately and we have been pretty loyal for 4 years. Today was the worst and we won't go back again this holiday. Poor service and not good enough food for what should be a home from home good food place to visit. I asked for a scone to take away. "We only have one left and it is plain". This was 1pm. It wasn't busy, I don't think they had made/had any delivered. My husband had a bacon roll - previously this had come with salad and crisps. Today it came with a plate. Couldn't wait to leave. Shame, should be so much better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
408 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A five star meal”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The meal we had was a totally unexpected pleasure. It wouldn't have been out of place in the finest restaurant. in a big city. It's small, and the same person takes the order, does the cooking and serves the food! On a cold, damp night the woodburning stove did a great job of keeping us warm..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderfully eccentric”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Wonderfully eccentric place. The menu was literally handwritten in biro by the warmly welcoming host as we sipped excellent Glenfidden Standard bitter (Dark Beer). I had the brazed beef in dark heather gravy and it was delicious. Warm bread rolls and courteous welcoming staff all made this most pleasant. Perfectly located for walkers or judging by the strapping Kayaking lads that quadrupled the customers in that Sunday night also well located for more extreme sports at the nearby Lochs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wellitsmytake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, views and atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We've been visiting the Ariundle Centre now for 9 years and are looking forward to eating there again this summer. Kate and her team are so friendly and welcoming, and in all our holidays spent in the Strontian area whenever we visit the Ariundle Centre it feels like coming home.

The food is wonderful and even with our fussy eater of a son, Kate has always been able to offer something to tempt him to eat. Its a place for taking your time and relaxing as you enjoy the peace and scenery before the food arrives. Its also a lovely place for a coffee or cake in the afternoons and our children love to run around the field out the back.

Would recommend to anyone looking for fresh produce, generous portions and a soothing atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ariundle Centre also viewed

 
Acharacle, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Ariundle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing