We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Archie Easton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Archie Easton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Brander lodge is set in what is some of Scotland's most beautiful scenery and is run by the friendliest staff I've ever met and I travel a lot. It is also hosted/run by a lovely family who will and can provide a very relaxing stay for all. Thoroughly advise a holiday or short stay at the Brander Lodge, Oban.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArchieEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    89
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
96
105
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

On recommendations from Grants the Taynuilt butchers & Inverawe Smokehouse we visited in total 3 times for diner, we were welcomed warmly & served by very friendly staff. The food well it was absolutely gorgeous, served efficiently & promptly. After we went to sit in the bar where staff & other customers all joined together in conversations. We felt total at home here & will definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was travelling alone and couldn't have felt more welcome and looked after. The staff and service were fantastic. I had dinner and breakfast and really enjoyed both. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel but did have an evening meal after being recommended. Sounded good on the menu but very disappointing. Food was extremely hot as if it had been microwaved or kept in a very hot oven. Mine was overcooked and tough. Waitress on duty wasn't very welcoming or helpful and to be honest we felt like we weren't really wanted as they set up all the tables for breakfast around us while we were still eating. Shame as it has had other good reviews and was recommended. Perhaps we just visited on a bad night. Would normally have complained but were very tired after travelling so just wanted to get to bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellyfishslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really welcoming staff, wonderful food, beautiful gardens and a great bar. The bird feeders positioned close to the lounge windows provided added entertainment. We only stayed for one night but expect to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A very friendly place to stay.
Arrived late at night and was offered something to eat even though the service had finished.
Breakfast and service was excellent and have little doubt other meals would be the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a day of rain we had a warm welcome in Brander lodge. A nice room, footbal on tv and a very good meal. Our wet motorclothes were dried for us in the drying room. All complements to the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
2.3 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
8.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
11.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.0 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro

Property: The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Address: Bridge of Awe A85 | Near Taynuilt, Oban, Taynuilt PA35 1HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now reached 3 star rating with the completion of the new ensuites. Warm, welcome, friendly hospitality is offered in this family owned and operated country Hotel & Bistro quietly set in three and a half acres of landscaped gardens in the shadows of Ben Cruachan at the mouth of the historic Brander Pass. We have 21 rooms all en-suite compiling a combination of singles, twins, doubles and two, two roomed family rooms. The Hotel has an ongoing refurbishment program and will be carrying out further upgrading of facilities late Winter early Spring 2015/16 as business permits, with minimal disruption to guests as it shall be completed in closed off stages. Our Menu offers freshly prepared and locally sourced food where possible and portions are generous with a more homely nature, wholesome and hearty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brander Lodge Hotel And Bistro
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro Taynuilt, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing