We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little tearoom”
Review of The Robin's Nest

The Robin's Nest
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Popular Tearoom/coffee shop.Lovely fresh home baking and tasty ,somewhat unusual soups.Good value for money.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely little tearoom”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

On a trip up to Oban,stopped here for lunch. So glad we did. What a varied,exciting menu!The soup was fab! Tomato soup with a twist with lemongrass and coconut and freshly made bread. However so full after ,i had no room to sample the beautiful cakes and scones. Another excuse to return. My husband had a brownie and said it was chocolate bliss.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming . My only small negative comment would be the small tearoom is lacking a bit in character,but that's only my opinion.At the end of the day,we're here for the food .
Very small,so get there early!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tea and scones to die for!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Was taken here for a cuppa by a friend. Pot of tea for two plus a cinnamon and fruit scone for me, treacle scone for my friend. Finished the first pot of tea and had another..so we could have another scone. Great service, great scones and great tea...can't say much more than that. Lovely little find!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judielovespurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Robin's Nest is well named in that it is a petite venue to meet in for a lunch-time or coffee-time treat and given the high standard of homemade cooking and baking, a booking is recommendable. There is a good selection of foods and drinks to choose from, which makes the idea of subsequent visits a very appealing one!

The staff who served at my table were very pleasant and efficient. The toilets are accessible and general cleanliness is evident throughout this tearoom.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liked_it_or_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I visited this cafe for coffee and cake and were delighted to find that the standard was excellent. The place itself is very clean, with a lovely warm atmosphere and attentive staff. The coffee was delicious and the cakes were home made and fantastic. I had gingerbread with butter and my wife had fresh cream meringue. It's just as well we don't live near Robins Nest or I'm sure we would be piling on the pounds!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent little tearoom”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Friendly little tearoom with a great selection of cakes. Be warned, it gets packed! It's just off the main road and is road to the Bonawe Ironworks, which are also well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Robin's Nest also viewed

Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
 
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute

Been to The Robin's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing