We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent find in a lovely village...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant

Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Gastropub, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Taynuilt Hotel Lounge Bar offers gastro pub style food all prepared on the premises by our talented Chef Patron John McNulty who make everything onsite and only use the best Scottish produce, generous portions full of flavour washed down with a local hand pulled, cask ale. David Lapsley, General Manager and resident Sommelier has created a Scottish craft beer selection that has something for everyone and a wine list that challenges many a city restaurant, his knowledge on wine and spirits is extensive and will gladly pair drinks throughout your meal.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent find in a lovely village...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

While tracing family tree we found ourselves needing refreshment.

The Taynauilt Hotel is well placed on a cross roads to help travelers.

We initially had drinks, then browsed the menu kindly offered, which brought us neatly to dining.

The service was good, food excellent and cost appropriate, no complaints at all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Many thanks for your review,

It is pleasing to hear that browsing our menu was enough to convince you to stay and have dinner and I am glad you found the pricing appropriate we do go to some length to ensure the premium products and specialty ingredients are priced in such a way that we don't price ourself out of the market, unfortunately in this day and age the best local and top quality ingredients do cost more.

Again, we are happy you enjoyed your experience with us,

Many thanks

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    31
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We ate here two nights in a row when we were staying on Loch Awe. Wonderful food and alcohol selection! Their chicken liver parfait was my personal favorite, but everything we ate both nights was scrumptious (including their homemade fudge for dessert!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldsRoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

We are delighted we were able to make your stay up here that bit more memorable,

Hope to see you again soon sometime,

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taynuilt Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My Husband booked a table for our 35th wedding anniversary while on holiday in Scotland. The hotel has been refurbished and is pleasant to sit in. we were given the menus and told that they had run out of salmon and no asparagus. We both ordered the scallops for starter, they had some grit still in them and at 14.00 for each one,we feel it should have been better, we then had 2 sirloin steaks which were just okay. our meal was 89.00 for two, we don't mind paying for good food but I think the hotel which is situated in a very small village are trying to charge city prices and are probably putting local residents off from dining there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
??? the same review in 2 days, thank you

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we thought it was great food fabulous service and really impressed with the value. the restaurant is lovely and the atmosphere was relaxed friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheilasteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for review, our staff are continually praised and I am again so happy that our diners continue to recognise the work we do here,

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went here for our 35th wedding anniversary on Thursday June 12th 2014. Started with no prices on the menu outside. When seated and menu's arrived, we were told they had run out of Salmon. We then found there was no chicken on the menu. A meal for two with one drink each cost us £89. This consisted of Scallops for starters which were gritty so therefore not sufficiently cleaned. Sirloin steaks for main and one dessert. I think these people are certainly charging "City prices" for what I believe will be one visit per customer as the food presentation was only OK for the price. The Hotel itself has obviously been recently renovated which is definitely reflected in the cost of eating. Not recommended for the tourist and would not be frequented by many local people at these prices! Rated at 2 in the hope the owners will see the short sightedness of their ways. Otherwise. Only worth a rating of one and could not permit myself to eat there again. Staff are worth a rating of four though as they were attentive and well mannered.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
I am extremely disappointed with your review, not because it is a "Bad Review" but because it is has been written with such a bitter and short sighted tone, as such I would like to look at your review in full,

We do not put prices on our sample menu's as we buy our produce daily where possible, yes a lot doesn't change but the main components of our dish usually do fluctuate in price, we reflect this on the daily menu that we hand to our diners.

We are an extremely busy restaurant with an exceptional menu, every now and again 1 dish always becomes a "best seller" I am sorry during your visit that the Salmon had sold out but it was exactly that, a very popular dish.

A meal of 5 courses 2 of which were Scallops and 2 of which were Steaks 1 Dessert and 2 drinks were £89??? I think I will just gloss over this point.

As for your comment regarding "City prices" if by that you mean the best possible local produce. Prepared fresh, daily and cooked to order by expert, trained and passionate Chefs then yes we are Guilty of this and I make no apologies.

I am however glad that our staff dealt with you in there usual high standard.

Thanks again for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
 
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Taynuilt Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing