We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The food!!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taynuilt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taynuilt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

That was some meal! Just popped in for some dinner with my mum and was blown away!
We had the scallops to start, fresh from the road in a small fishing village in Argyll, and were lovely and small, but plenty of them all piled up in a sort of tier rosette topped with rocket. And mains were superb! I had the local venison with amazing layered potatoes, beans and a carrot purée that I swear tasted like toffee! And my mum had Gin ad Tonic battered Haddock, which from what I was allowed to have was also very tasty!
Meals were reasonably priced for the quality and quantity of food and everyone was friendly and happy!
Had a great night, next time I will stay over! All the best to the hotel, I couldn't recommend you enough!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccheyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    65
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
143
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here with a few family members recently, and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant in the evening and the food was very nice - we shared 2 starters and 2 desserts between the four of us as well as having main meals, and we were definitely satisfied with the portion sizes. The breakfast was also very nice - a good selection to choose from for your appetite. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLNuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst up for a friend's wedding. We arrived 3 hours too early for check-in and had resigned ourselves to a few hours of waiting before we could get into our room, however, the staff managed to get our room ready next, and we were in within 10 mins.

When it transpired the taxi to the wedding would cost a fair bit, the hotel owner offered to drop us off 8 miles down the road, absolutely free of course, in and around his busy schedule.

Food was lovely: Had the venison burger with chunky chips, and Scottish breakfast in the morning. Non greasy and tasty!

I generally like a friendly chat with hotel staff, and here, everyone I spoke to gave exactly that. Really nice people, and we wish them luck with their hotel!

Cannot fault our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choopstik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Previously stayed many years ago. It was good to see the place had a facelift inside, much brighter and that the bar area is next. Staff very friendly rooms clean and excellent food. Outside a little tired looking, but still a great stay, very relaxing.

Hotel would benefit from having wifi for customers as this hotel is remote and most people expect to have this available in hotels and it would allow visitors to plan their visits from the comfort on the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

FINALLY! After going in to receivership, the place was taken over this year and given the deep clean it needed.

The pub has had the oppressive dark walls painted white, the outdated and naff copperwear decor stripped and replaced with family friend and local artist, John Hay's artwork, and the old carpets replaced with wooden floors.

I know it's being done in stages, and that the dining area has been the first place to be revamped, but what an improvement! They've even put a wee reception desk in the foyer now so you're no longer left standing with your luggage, like a loon, when you walk in. Radical, huh?

We were here for the food. The old menu was dire, pages and pages of every pub item you could imagine. Horrid.

In it's place is one page of local food, including Inverawe smoked fish, Oban landed Langoustines and Grants venison burger (Grants is the village butcher, with fabulous produce) to name a few.

The chef used to work with Heston, which explains the gorgeous triple cooked chips!

We had a platter of Langoustines to start with, then we both had the venison burger and followed it by a selection of home made ice creams. Delicious!

I was SO happy to see a selection of local ales behind the bar, as this really annoyed me before that the ONLY ale seemed to be Belhaven Best. Yes, there's still the usual tripe on draft: Tennants, Guinness, Magners etc, but with the addition of Fyne Ales, Isle of Mull, Oban Bay and Colonsay ales, there's plenty to choose from.

Welcome back, Taynuilt Hotel, you're awesome!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for your support and enthusiasm towards our refurbishment at Taynuilt Hotel it means a lot to myself and our hard working staff, we hope to see you again soon.

John Mc Nulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We came across this Hotel on a trip to Oban. We had hired a cottage in Oban but went to Taynuilt for golf. The golf course was great and dinner and breakfasts over 3 days in the Taynuilt Hotel were excellent and the welcome was warm. Staff couldn't do enough for us. The outside of the Hotel in still a bit tired but inside the decor and food is first class. We'll be back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our party of 10 booked for an evening meal as part of our final night on holiday in Bonny Scotland.
We obtained the menu prior to our visit and the range and price seemed to fit the tastes and budget of our party. The outside of the hotel looked unremarkable, but a warm welcome awaited inside.
We enjoyed our meal to a man/woman. Varied, tasty, well cooked and presented beautifully. Our waitreses Donna and Laura were helpful and efficient and the bill did not break the bank.
Thanks to all the staff at Taynuilt Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and that we could make it one for you to remember. Also we are glad you took our menu and was to your tasting and budget as we try to please everyone's appetites and tastes.

We hope that the outside of the hotel hasn't put you off (next on to do list) coming back to the hotel as we would love to see you return.

Thank you for your review.

John McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
2.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.5 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
6.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taynuilt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taynuilt Hotel

Property: Taynuilt Hotel
Address: Taynuilt, Taynuilt PA35 1JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taynuilt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taynuilt is ideally situated on the ancient "road to the isles", close to Oban and the ferries to the Inner Hebrides & beyond. Taynuilt Hotel has for centuries been a staging post for travellers along this route. Nestling at the foot of Ben Cruachan, between Loch Etive & Loch Awe, in an area of outstanding natural beauty and steeped in history, Taynuilt Hotel, with modern facilities, fine hospitality & superb food is a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Taynuilt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taynuilt Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing