We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food & warm welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taynuilt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taynuilt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & warm welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my lunch at the Taynuilt Hotel. Fantastic service & warm, friendly environment. I had the chicken liver pâté which was really tasty especially on the homemade bread then I had the venison burger & chips which was absolutely delicious! Everything was very fresh, well presented & the portions are extremely generous so unfortunately I couldn't fit in a desert on this occasion! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinY8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I am happy that you had a good dining experience with us and will be returning, (with a possibility of pudding).

The staff at the hotel are very hard working which you have reflected in your review which we appreciate and also thank you for the comment on our fresh and generous portions as that is what we want people to know we do.

Thank you for the review and we do hope to see you again

John McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    65
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
150
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We planned a three day long weekend visiting the area and having never been to this part of Scotland before we used Tripadvisor and I can say that the positive reviews below are true.

The food is Excellent, (the owner is the Chef). We would say that if you are planning to stay more that 1 night the evening three course dinners have large portion Sizes so don't plan to eat three course every night unless you have no regard for the calorie count. We shared starters and desserts between four after the first night. Oh, and the triple cooked chips are amazing.

Staff were very friendly and the rooms were spotless.

Would be good if they could offer free wifi in the public areas as mobile reception isn't great and international visitors would need this to stay in contact these days.

Room Tip: Would probably go for a room at the back if possible, especially in summer if you want to have a win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It is great that you used Trip Advisor to plan your trip and that we could be part of it.

Thank you for enjoying the food and I apologise if the portions were a bit on the large side but we will try to accommodate to each and everyone's appetites. We do like our triple cooked chips too and will continue to make them. Also thank you on the comment on our rooms and staff.

With the Wi-Fi we would like to offer it to our residents and public areas in hotel but it is difficult due to the old building lay out and thick walls. We are sorry.

We do hope that you will return if you find yourself in this part of Scotland again.
Thank you for your review.

John McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited the Taynuilt for a birthday party and stayed at this hotel for a night and it was lovely. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The Manageress booked us in and took us to our room which had a lovely four poster bed. We were going to a birthday party and she very kindly provided us with a night porter (which isn't standard) - in addition I honestly have to say she was one of the nicest hoteliers I have ever met - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning was excellent - the full works and not greasy in the slightest, just lovely fresh local fayre. Highly recommend this hotel for a stop over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillMartinMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

Our manageress is hard working and likes to go out her way to make each residents stay more enjoyable and I am glad that she could do this for you. Our room with the four poster bed is a very popular room.

We like that you enjoyed our breakfast as it is a good ending to your stay but we do hope you will visit again soon.

John McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Attended here for a family meal 9 of us in total and enjoyed both the food and service we all had various different dishes and no complaints from any of us food portions were great and well presented .The only issue was the area we were sitting in lacked a little atmosphere as we sat in the restaurant area the hotel uses for breakfasts and as such felt as though we were left out of the good atmosphere this hotel has .The food more than made up for the minor issue of where we were seated will be back that's for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystaltipsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review,

I am very sorry you felt the restaurant was lacking atmosphere that evening. Due to having a table of 9 we are unable to fit this in the lounge area at times depending on bookings so as you would be comfortable and not squeezed in. In the future please do let us know that you would prefer to sit in lounge area and we will happily do this for you.

Also I am very happy you enjoyed your evening and great to hear you will be returning.
Thank you.

John McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a difference a lick of paint can do! the whole place looks cleaner and brighter. The new owners have done a marvellous job. Food comes in enormous portions, best chips I've had in years, great puddings all at a reasonable price. Will visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Great to see you have enjoyed the hotel and have noticed what we are trying to achieve along with the food and décor.

We do hope to see you again soon and thank you for your review.

John McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed the week in a cottage in the grounds of Bonawe House and used the hotel for food and drink only. We ate here on three separate nights of our week's stay and on each visit the food was top class. I had the gin and tonic battered fish on two of the nights, it was that good. On the Monday night we stayed on after our dinner to take part in the quiz - which we lost on a tie break, but not bad considering it was just the two of us in the team. We did, however win the spot prize so had another fiver to spend at the bar ! Overall, the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was excellent, with no long waits even when the Hotel was very busy. Highly recommended for evening meals.

Room Tip: Only used the bar / restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJM0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Spent the weekend in Taynuilt hotel for my birthday my husband is originally from Taynuilt staff are very friendly food was amazing, massive portions spent Friday night in the bar with live music and the locals had an enjoyable evening and locals were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were very comfortable and clean we will definitelybe returning .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebanani42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Taynuilt Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
2.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
9.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taynuilt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taynuilt Hotel

Property: Taynuilt Hotel
Address: Taynuilt, Taynuilt PA35 1JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taynuilt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taynuilt is ideally situated on the ancient "road to the isles", close to Oban and the ferries to the Inner Hebrides & beyond. Taynuilt Hotel has for centuries been a staging post for travellers along this route. Nestling at the foot of Ben Cruachan, between Loch Etive & Loch Awe, in an area of outstanding natural beauty and steeped in history, Taynuilt Hotel, with modern facilities, fine hospitality & superb food is a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taynuilt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taynuilt Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing