We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in the Highlands”
Review of The Taynuilt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taynuilt
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We really liked the way the new owners of the Taynuilt Hotel have changed things. Our bedroom was comfortable and stylishly furnished. The restaurant and bar have been transformed and look terrific;
Excellent food at reasonable prices, a good selection of single malts and beers. Staff welcoming and efficient.
Couldn't be better..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruisedpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you appreciate what we are doing and hope to see you again in the future.
Maybe there might even be even more malts and beers as we like to have a wide selection.

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for one night in late August on our way to the far North and we couldn't have wished for more. Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast, good place to stay. Also had dinner in the restaurant which was also very good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us the Taynuilt Hotel and our food which we take pride in.
If you find yourself in the area again it would be great to have you return.

Thank you for the review.

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visited 2 years ago when this was a dark, dingy and tired establishment. We decided to give it a try having driven past it and realising it had changed hands.

I'm so glad we did as the place has been totally transformed. The owner works at the hotel so takes a keen interest in its running.

We ate there but did not stay as we already had accommodation . The food was lovely we had beer battered fish and the venison burger both generous portions, well presented and very tasty and all locally sourced. Then we had the chocolate brownie and home made vanilla ice cream. It was delightful and I have no idea how I had the room but it was so lovely I had to finish it!

The restaurant was bright and the bar area looked welcoming and cosy - a totally different experience from the last time and one I'd certainly recommend for the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Joheuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

What a lovely review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed a meal at the Hotel and have gave us the appreciation of our refurbishment. We do hope that you recommend us to your friends and family and return to try some more of our food and ice creams.

Thank you for taking your time to write your review.

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We came across this hotel by chance, quite late in the evening as we had been travelling and were desperate to find somewhere to eat. Although it was 9pm, we were expecting to be told we were too late to order hot food, but were welcomed and advised that we could still order. The food was excellent, large portions and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and service was good so we returned the second evening after a day on Mull. We didn't stay overnight but would definitely consider staying here for our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We are extremely happy that you found us by chance and are considering to stay with us the next time you visit Scotland.

At the Hotel we like to help as much as we can and I was very happy to read that we could welcome you to dine with us that evening and also that you returned a second night.
I hope on your return that we can make it every bit as good or even better for you.

Thank you for reviewing the hotel

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my lunch at the Taynuilt Hotel. Fantastic service & warm, friendly environment. I had the chicken liver pâté which was really tasty especially on the homemade bread then I had the venison burger & chips which was absolutely delicious! Everything was very fresh, well presented & the portions are extremely generous so unfortunately I couldn't fit in a desert on this occasion! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinY8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

I am happy that you had a good dining experience with us and will be returning, (with a possibility of pudding).

The staff at the hotel are very hard working which you have reflected in your review which we appreciate and also thank you for the comment on our fresh and generous portions as that is what we want people to know we do.

Thank you for the review and we do hope to see you again

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We planned a three day long weekend visiting the area and having never been to this part of Scotland before we used Tripadvisor and I can say that the positive reviews below are true.

The food is Excellent, (the owner is the Chef). We would say that if you are planning to stay more that 1 night the evening three course dinners have large portion Sizes so don't plan to eat three course every night unless you have no regard for the calorie count. We shared starters and desserts between four after the first night. Oh, and the triple cooked chips are amazing.

Staff were very friendly and the rooms were spotless.

Would be good if they could offer free wifi in the public areas as mobile reception isn't great and international visitors would need this to stay in contact these days.

Room Tip: Would probably go for a room at the back if possible, especially in summer if you want to have a win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

It is great that you used Trip Advisor to plan your trip and that we could be part of it.

Thank you for enjoying the food and I apologise if the portions were a bit on the large side but we will try to accommodate to each and everyone's appetites. We do like our triple cooked chips too and will continue to make them. Also thank you on the comment on our rooms and staff.

With the Wi-Fi we would like to offer it to our residents and public areas in hotel but it is difficult due to the old building lay out and thick walls. We are sorry.

We do hope that you will return if you find yourself in this part of Scotland again.
Thank you for your review.

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited the Taynuilt for a birthday party and stayed at this hotel for a night and it was lovely. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The Manageress booked us in and took us to our room which had a lovely four poster bed. We were going to a birthday party and she very kindly provided us with a night porter (which isn't standard) - in addition I honestly have to say she was one of the nicest hoteliers I have ever met - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning was excellent - the full works and not greasy in the slightest, just lovely fresh local fayre. Highly recommend this hotel for a stop over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillMartinMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, Owner at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

Our manageress is hard working and likes to go out her way to make each residents stay more enjoyable and I am glad that she could do this for you. Our room with the four poster bed is a very popular room.

We like that you enjoyed our breakfast as it is a good ending to your stay but we do hope you will visit again soon.

John McNulty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
2.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
15.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
687 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
17 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taynuilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taynuilt

Address: Taynuilt PA35 1JN, Scotland (Formerly Taynuilt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Price Range: £63 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Taynuilt 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taynuilt is ideally situated on the ancient "road to the isles," close to Oban and the ferries to the Inner Hebrides & beyond. Taynuilt Hotel has for centuries been a staging post for travellers along this route. Nestling at the foot of Ben Cruachan, between Loch Etive & Loch Awe, in an area of outstanding natural beauty and steeped in history, Taynuilt Hotel, with modern facilities, fine hospitality & superb food is a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taynuilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taynuilt Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing