We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of The Taynuilt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taynuilt
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this inn. It keeps old character while being fully modern. It's clean, light-filled and has friendly knowledgeable staff. While traveling for 15 days, it was by the far the best place we stayed in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blkWeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for The Taynuilt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have spent many times over the last 33 years visiting this hotel as I am married to a local although we live in glasgow,and have seen many owners come and go and make changes to the hotel and it's restaurant.However this time the new owners have got it right with both hotel and restaurant.Last night we booked a table for four of us and have to say the food was amazing and not one complaint between us.I had a vegetable pie for my main and it was just so delicious with a side of Savoy cabbage that was cooked to perfection.The service from front of house was first class for the first time that I can ever remember.The place has been given a makeover but still keeping the olde drovers inn touch that has always made it quaint.Would most definitely recommend taynuilt hotel to all who pass through the area.Top marks from us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stopped because of an accident on the A85 near Oban. We were greeted promptly and made to feel welcome. Spent some time at the bar until dinner would be served. Chatted with the barkeep and enjoyed a pint. Dinner was well plated and exactly the correct temperature. We absolutely enjoyed our meal. I had the venison, my companions, a steak and the meat pie. Everything was delicious. We still had several hours to wait for the accident to be cleared, so back to the bar for another pint ( except for the designated driver of course). Thank you to everyone there for making our delay enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank tjsoyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Popped in here for cheeky dram before my train and was warmly welcomed !! the one thing that ~I would adviseis they are over stretched and need extra staff!!!! They are all lovely and helpful and will try their hadest but the place has lots of space and coves and would be nice if the bartender stayed on the bar saying that the general manager David Lapsley made a great effore to come say hello and introduce his new concept that's lauv=ching and I look forward to reading the great reviews !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss-p-piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What an excellent birthday celebration from start to finish. We were greeted with smiles and efficient service in the hotel bar whilst ordering drinks and choosing our meals. We were definitely not disappointed with our choices.....for starters, we ordered Seafood Chowder, Soup of the Day and The Queenies, all absolutely superb. For mains, we chose the Meat Pie and the Meat of the Day (haunch of Venison), again all absolutely stunning. We ordered wine to match each course, each one recommended by the waiter (who we suspect was the manager), excellent recommendations. Unfortunately, we didn't manage dessert as the portions of the starters and mains were so big!!

Full to brimming, we retired to the bar for an after dinner tipple on the comfy sofas, excellent knowledge on the large whiskey selection from the bar maid.

We didn't stay at the hotel, we only ate there (and popped in for drinks throughout the week as we were staying locally) so we cannot comment on the accommodation etc; however, for food and drinks, the place was superb. There is also a village bar adjacent to the hotel bar with a bit more of a casual feel. If you are in the area, we definitely recommend calling in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, while enroute to Glasgow. This hotel is an absolute gem. The whole hotel is full of character, from the slightly slopping floors to the age of the building. Our room was absolutely brilliant - big and spotless which is perfect. But the best bit for us was the food - it was fantastic. Variety, quantity, quality and service was all next to none. We will be back Taynuilt Hotel that you can guarantee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Macleod1076908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here with a few others for a wedding that was taking place on Loch Awe. We needed to check in early to get ready for the wedding and when we called ahead, they were really accommodating. Our room wasn't being used the previous night, so we could get straight in, and our friends room was put at the top of their priority list for cleaning so that they could get in quickly too. By the time we arrived, all our rooms were ready and we were greeted by the manager, who has recently taken over, and was very friendly and helpful in sorting out taxis for us to get to and from the wedding venue.

When we got back late that night, we had a few night caps in the bar, and had a great chat with the manager (now serving as bar tender) whilst he showed us a few of their best whiskies!

Breakfast the next morning was great, with a full Scottish included in the price of the room. All in all, a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fillingthepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at The Taynuilt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
2.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
377 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
661 reviews
15.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,476 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taynuilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taynuilt

Address: Taynuilt PA35 1JN, Scotland (Formerly Taynuilt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Price Range: £57 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Taynuilt 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taynuilt is ideally situated on the ancient "road to the isles", close to Oban and the ferries to the Inner Hebrides & beyond. Taynuilt Hotel has for centuries been a staging post for travellers along this route. Nestling at the foot of Ben Cruachan, between Loch Etive & Loch Awe, in an area of outstanding natural beauty and steeped in history, Taynuilt Hotel, with modern facilities, fine hospitality & superb food is a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taynuilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taynuilt Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing