We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Taynuilt Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taychreggan Hotel(Kilchrenan)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardanaiseig Hotel(Kilchrenan)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portsonachan Hotel(Portsonachan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
223
74
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
74
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching innamuse bouchethe general managersuperior roomsteakposter bedreceived a very warm welcomeeggs benedictcourse mealsourdough breadice creamhigh standardamazing foodfirst classloch etivefront of housegenerous portions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We received a warm welcome on arrival and our room was clean, nice and spacious. My husband loved the full breakfast, he thinks it is the best he has ever had- quality products rather than cheap alternatives. We dined at the restaurant on our second night, dinner has to be described as exceptional. To start we had mushrooms on sourdough, and the queenies both were delicious. For mains my husband had the steak which he said was seasoned to perfection, and I had their fish pie- it was amazing.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends, and would visit again. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating, they even let us lock our bikes up in a room rather than leave them out over night. Give it a go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this inn. It keeps old character while being fully modern. It's clean, light-filled and has friendly knowledgeable staff. While traveling for 15 days, it was by the far the best place we stayed in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blkWeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have spent many times over the last 33 years visiting this hotel as I am married to a local although we live in glasgow,and have seen many owners come and go and make changes to the hotel and it's restaurant.However this time the new owners have got it right with both hotel and restaurant.Last night we booked a table for four of us and have to say the food was amazing and not one complaint between us.I had a vegetable pie for my main and it was just so delicious with a side of Savoy cabbage that was cooked to perfection.The service from front of house was first class for the first time that I can ever remember.The place has been given a makeover but still keeping the olde drovers inn touch that has always made it quaint.Would most definitely recommend taynuilt hotel to all who pass through the area.Top marks from us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stopped because of an accident on the A85 near Oban. We were greeted promptly and made to feel welcome. Spent some time at the bar until dinner would be served. Chatted with the barkeep and enjoyed a pint. Dinner was well plated and exactly the correct temperature. We absolutely enjoyed our meal. I had the venison, my companions, a steak and the meat pie. Everything was delicious. We still had several hours to wait for the accident to be cleared, so back to the bar for another pint ( except for the designated driver of course). Thank you to everyone there for making our delay enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Popped in here for cheeky dram before my train and was warmly welcomed !! the one thing that ~I would adviseis they are over stretched and need extra staff!!!! They are all lovely and helpful and will try their hadest but the place has lots of space and coves and would be nice if the bartender stayed on the bar saying that the general manager David Lapsley made a great effore to come say hello and introduce his new concept that's lauv=ching and I look forward to reading the great reviews !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss-p-piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews