We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnside Bistro

Burnside Bistro
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: B & B and Restaurant in Tighnabruaich village
Dundee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Dined at the Burnside with relatives, yet again we enjoyed another fantastic meal. A tapas menu was available with a good range of dishes for all. Even the veggie. I can't recommend the Burnside enough, if you are visiting Tighnabruaich be sure to eat here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely wee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We've been into the Burnside a number of times over many years but we hadn't been in for a while and called in for lunch a few weeks ago. It's had a bit of a makeover inside and thankfully got rid of the bright orange walls - it's now much more tasteful and a very pleasant atmosphere. Excellent food and service. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous little Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stumbled on this place one morning, on one of the first mornings of our holiday in Portavadie Marina. We decided on a full breakfast with a pot of tea. The food arrived piping hot and swiftly. The black pudding was to die for, as was the rest of the breakfast. The staff were very attentive and friendly, we didn't have to ask for top ups of tea or toast as they just kept coming!!!! This is a gem of a place. We will be back to taste evening menu later this week.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty runs this place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Food adverage. 21st centre and they do not accept cards. We were told when we recieved the bill.

The welcome when we walked in the door from the owner was "Name" not good evening and welcome (The normal welcome)

Food is simple and cheap. Nothing exciting. Thanks David err Basil. Customer services.......

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sstimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meringues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The best meringues ever! The Burnside Bistro offers a fun, friendly and charming place to go for morning coffee (fantastic latte and expresso) with a meringue, delicious snack lunch followed by a coffee and another meringue, afternoon tea for more meringues and an exquisite dinner of local produce from sea and field ending up with coffee and the last meringue of the day! Fine weather allows sitting outside on the edge of the sea watching the boats go by or outside on the edge of the road watching the action in the village. Definitely the hub of the village and a place we visit every day whilst staying in Tighnabruaich on our yearly trip to Scotland.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burnside Bistro also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Burnside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing