We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oriental Evening in the bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellpark Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tighnabruaich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wellpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oriental Evening in the bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited to sample the Oriental food evening in the bar and were delighted with the food and the venue. Reservation was easy to make and on arrival we were shown into the beautiful dining room. Set in one of Tighnabruaich's Victorian houses the whole experience was a treat from beginning to end.

Room Tip: Try a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear NMowatt, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a very kind review following your recent visit to Wellpark for our Oriental Evening. We are so pleased you found the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable. Please come back to see us again when you are next in sunny Tighnabruaich! Best Regards, Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited this hotel twice recently. The first time we had a bar meal. The selection was limited, but given this is a small hotel in a remote location, that indicates that the food is freshly cooked rather then being a negative. Food was produced quickly and was very tasty. The waiter accidentally tipped a pint of beer and a pint of coke over me, but the management were very apologetic and did everything they could to make amends.
The hotel is beautifully presented and service very friendly and welcoming, I can't fault it.

We returned a few days later and had a restaurant meal. This was a delight, a good selection of local produce, very nicely presented and served, and the dining room is fabulous.

The bar meals were sensibly priced, the restaurant meals much more expensive, but the expense for a special evening.

I would really recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Chris S, Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent visits to Wellpark Thank you also for returning after your dousing on your first visit to give us an opportunity to show we can get things right! We are so please you enjoyed the food, & beers etc on both occasions and of course this beautiful old house in such a stunning location. We do only use fresh local produce which can sometimes be a bit limiting but endeavour to change the menu regularly to reflect seasonal availability. We have good relationships with all local producers and can usually obtain special requests so should you decide to return please do not hesitate to contact us and we will do our best to ensure everything is provided to your satisfaction. Thank you once agaib, Best Regards, Anne & Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our second stay at Wellpark, again for a week, and it really couldn't have been better. The room we had was lovely, with a very comfy bed, a wonderful view of the Kyles of Bute, and lots of little touches to make it so welcoming and comfortable. Anne looked after us very well, with delicious freshly cooked breakfasts and very nice dinners, all with local ingredients. Nothing is too much trouble for either Anne or Colin. We shall certainly stay there again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Shamrock is lovely, with wonderful views and a sofa in the bay window to enjoy them. Can't comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_travellers02_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Happy Travellers, Thank you so much for your very kind review following your second stay with us at Wellpark. It was lovely to see you again and we are glad you enjoyed this visit as much as your first. We do hope you will be able to return in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently had a fantastic two-night stay at Wellpark Hotel for our 10-year wedding anniversary in May. Many thanks to Colin and Ann for an extremely professional and high quality operation in a beautiful location and with amazing food; they manage to create an environment of perfect balance between personal service and professional distance, which made our stay extremely special. The hotel is equipped to a very high standard, with wonderful art deco touches, original bathroom fittings and luscious decoration. We stayed in the Shamrock suite, which has views to die for down the Kyle alongside Bute.

We arrived a little later than expected on Friday night and were booked in for dinner in the Wardroom restaurant - both Ann and Colin were exeptionally flexible, allowing us to relax in the lovely lounge with a pre-dinner drink while dinner was prepared. The Food at Wellpark is one of the many highlights: absolutely top quality. I would say better than most Edinburgh/London restaurants, and we've tried a few!

On Saturday we were recommended a great walk around the area by Colin and explored Tighnabruich and Kames. Ann prepared an excellent luxury picnic for us, which was a great touch. The Shamrock suite then allowed a lazy afternoon of paper reading on the sofa looking directly out to the Kyle - heavenly! Dinner in the evening was, again, wonderful, and Ann went out of her way to prepare a speciality of local langoustine. Nothing ever seemed too much trouble, and I think this is what sets Wellpark apart from most other small hotels.

All in all an extremley special place, with special people to mar a special event. If you're looking for a place to stay that goes the extra two miles then Wellpark is an absolute must. Thanks to Ann and Colin.

Room Tip: The Shamrock suite has fantastic views and a beautiful art deco original bathroom with standalone ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Adam H, Thank you so much for your very kind review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to help make your 10th Wedding Anniversary something special to remember.
We do hope you will be able to return to this beautiful part of the world again in the future. Best Regards Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

A country hotel that gets it exactly right. 10/10 for the owners, the hotel, the rooms, the bed, the bathroom, the food, the lounge area and the ocean plus mountain view. Small and personal hotel that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. All the attention to detail was most impressive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Clayton P, we are so pleased you and your wife enjoyed everything about your stay with us at Wellpark. We really appreciate the 10/10 score! We do hope you will soon return to see us again. Best Regards, Anne & Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemyss Bay
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Thanks to Anne & Colin for a fantastic stay last weekend. The hotel was superb, we stayed in the "Ranger" room which has stunning views of the Kyles of Bute. We ate at the hotel and the food was excellent (we both had the steak)

Colin & Anne are excellent hosts and we look forward to coming back soon

Iain & Linda McGarry

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, but I think that we may choose the "shamrock" next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMCGARRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Iain & Linda, thank you so much for your very kind comments following your stay with us at Wellpark last weekend. We are so pleased you enjoyed the fabulous Bute beef fillet steak. We look forward to seeing you both again, hopefully in the not too distant future, when you need to recharge your batteries once again!. Best Regards, Anne & Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We visited the Well Park hotel 8th and 9th of February for my birthday and I can honestly say it has to be the best all round hotel we have stayed in. The hotel is done out to a high standard including the bed and bedding which is the most comfortable I have ever slept in, we had a tray with a great selection of expensive teas and coffee`s. fresh milk and a selection of good biscuits. There was also a decanter with sherry in it if you so desired, a great personal touch. Anne and Colin are a great team running this hotel, two of the best hosts you could wish for along with their head of security Archie dog, a great little beagle hound. The room we had was called the Shamrock and the views across the Kyles of Bute were stunning. The food in the hotel was excellent as only the best local produce is used. We have booked the room we were in for New Year this year as it was so good. We intend to go back in March for our anniversary, it was such a special place. It was my birthday on the Sunday morning and Anne had went to the Gallery shop up the street and bought me a birthday card which was under my napkin on our breakfast table. Thank you Anne and Colin for a 10 out of 10 break. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, it only has 5 so book early for your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Bobby & Donna, Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your stay with us at Wellpark over the last weekend. Your review arrived at the same time as the booking for your wedding anniversay in March so 'Thank You' on both counts. We and Archie look forward to seeing you both again. Best Regards, Anne and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
1.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
7.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellpark Hotel

Property: Wellpark Hotel
Address: Wellpark Wellpark SHORE, Tighnabruaich PA21 2EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellpark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant house known as Wellpark provides comfortable accommodation in large stylish rooms, which retain many original features,with a warm welcoming atmosphere.Public rooms are very spacious and take in the magnificent sea views from huge windows making the most of this truly wonderful, tranquil location. We look forward to welcoming you for some traditional quality hospitality ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wellpark Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing