We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellpark Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tighnabruaich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wellpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here one night on a cycling holiday and arrived at the hotel rather wet after the Scottish weather! We arrived at 2pm, but were kindly allowed to check in early to our room, and given a room with separate bathroom just across the corridor. The room was lovely and we were pleased and surprised to get a small platter of fresh fruit in the room as well as nice biscuits, and complimentary sherry in a decanter. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel manageress cooks the meals herself and the food was delicious. Breakfast was lovely too and very fresh. All in all a very good stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear GabeGlasgow, I remember you arriving looking very wet, cold & bedraggled! Whenever possible we will always allow our guests to check in early and I am pleased this was possible in your case. You were definitely in need of a bowl of warm soup and a hot shower. I hope the weather was more favourable during the remainder of your journey through this beautiful part of the world. Thank you for such a super review and I hope you will come back and see us again. Kind Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This had everything. Great location looking over the waters to Bute. Lovely, beautifully kitted-out rooms, superb evening food, albeit pricey, but well worth it, and varied breakfasts in true Scottish tradition. We cannot do more than thank the owners for building and running such a place so well and strongly recommend this as a base to wander from.

Finally, gotta try the Cranachan with the whisky shot - it's a must.

Room Tip: Try for one of the loch-view rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoesBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear JoesBrigade, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in this fantastic location. Thank you for taking the trouble to post such a super review some time after your stay with us last September. We note your comment that you enjoyed our restaurant fare and found it pricey but worth it. We have recently changed our pricing structure so guests only pay for exactly what they want rather than the complete meal with meat or fish + potatoes/3 veg/sauce etc. You choose the main event then add the extras you prefer. We have also included some cheaper items on our menu. These changes are to reflect the more flexible way our guests wish to dine. We still offer the very best of fresh local ingredients , all freshly prepared and cooked so there is no reduction in quality. We do hope you will come and see us in 2014 - you can let us know what you think of the changes. Best Regards Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding here in April, and stayed in the hotel over the weekend. The rooms were beautiful and clean with extremely comfortable beds, and a gorgeous view. The staff were fantastic and very accommodating, which made the whole wedding party feel welcome. The food was also excellent. No complaints about this place whatsoever, and will definitely return the next time I visit Tighnabruaich.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gogogillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneslinger, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Gogogillies, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent stay with us to attend the wedding which was held here at Wellpark. It was a super experience for all of us and we enjoyed looking after the wedding party. We are pleased you intend to stay the next time you are in beautiful Tighnabruaich as we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having had a family home in Tighnabruaich for almost 14 years now, it's fair to say that I've visited most of the hotels, bars and restaurants in the village and surrounding area. Put simply, The Wellpark stands head and shoulders above them all in every respect. I will use the word perfect numerous times throughout my review, because everything truly was perfect.

Wellpark is an beautifully imposing building, but don't assume that you have to be suited and booted to venture inside. Everyone is made to feel equally welcome, whether they be residents, visitors dining in the restaurant, walkers or cyclists.

In our humble opinion, Wellpark is the most beautiful place in Tighnabruaich with the most glorious views across to the island of Bute and down the Kyles of Bute. No matter what the weather is like, the views are breathtaking, and if the weather does happen to be inclement, there's always a roaring fire to enjoy.

Given all this, when my fiance and I decided to get married in Tighnabruaich in April, Wellpark was the only venue we considered. We planned an intimate ceremony with only close family members, 17 people in all, so Wellpark was perfect. We decided to make a family weekend of it, so we effectively took over the hotel for a couple of days!

In the months leading up to the wedding, Anne was very patient as I swung into full bridezilla mode! Emails about the wedding details flew back and forth, but nothing seemed like too much trouble. We also visited on several occasions, and Anne was always available to discuss even the tiniest detail. Unfortunately I'm a bit of a control freak, but Anne was always able to reassure me and I had every confidence that the wedding would be perfect. How right I was!

My fiance (who obviously became my husband during our stay!) and I stayed in the Shamrock room, with its magnificent bay window and further side window. Bright and airy (as were all the rooms occupied by various family members), there were lots of little touches that made us feel very pampered indeed. The furnishings are luxurious to say the least.

We were offered a huge selection of dishes at breakfast, and everything was piping hot and beautifully prepared. Anne, Colin and all the lovely staff even set up the restaurant so we could all dine together in the morning......a lovely start to our wedding day.

The day of the wedding was a whirlwind of preparations and the 'buzz' around the hotel was lovely. Despite being so busy getting everything ready for the ceremony and subsequent wedding breakfast, every member of staff was the picture of calm, showing no indication that they were harassed or anxious.

Our ceremony took place in the large bay window of the lounge and the room was even more stunning than usual. The layout of the room, the amazing flower arrangements, words fail me as to how beautiful everything looked. I hadn't seen the room until I walked in with my dad, and even seeing it brought a tear to my eye. Again, the attention to detail was very much apparent, as everything was simply perfect (yes, that word again!)

After the ceremony, everyone enjoyed some fizz and/or a nice single malt and the service was attentive without being intrusive. During this time, the lounge was again transformed and became the setting of our evening reception..

When it was time for the wedding breakfast, we went through to the restaurant, which I also hadn't seen beforehand. Again, it was stunning, with beautiful table linens, candles, flowers, china and glasses. The food was simply amazing and enjoyed by everyone. Most of us had the Bute beef as our main course, and it was quite something that everyone's fillet steak was cooked perfectly and served at the same time. The service was again very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Excellent food, wine, speeches, tears, laughter....the wedding breakfast had it all. Perfect (yet again!) We later enjoyed a wonderful supper, which everyone enjoyed thoroughly.

During the meal and reception, we were able to enjoy our own selection of music, which was very important for a family obsessed with music. That being said, Colin's playlists are always wonderful, with lots of gems featured! I'm unsure exactly what time the reception finished....safe to say it was late....but we were catered for until the last person retired to bed, or left for their other accommodation.

Given that we experienced dining, accommodation and our wedding ceremony at Wellpark, I'd say we're well placed to review all these aspects. We simply cannot recommend Wellpark enough, regardless of whether you're popping in for a drink or two, dining in the bar or restaurant, or enjoying a stay there.

We subsequently had our honeymoon at our family home in Tighnabruaich, which is only a few hundred yards from The Wellpark, so we now very much consider it our 'local' when we're there, and popped in on numerous occasions during our stay.

If you're in the area, you really must Wellpark....you'll be glad that you did.


Jacqui & Jim Kelly :)

ps. photos to follow when we have them

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous, but we particularly like Shamrock. There is a very comfortable couch in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneandColin, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jacqui & Jim - Mr & Mrs Kelly! I have read your review a few times and tried to compose a response but am still quite speechless! It is extremely humbling to read such glowing comments and I simply can't tell you how much we all appreciate the time and trouble you took to write the wonderful review of your wedding here at Wellpark. I will take issue over one point - you were not a bridezilla! There is nothing wrong with planning every minute detail and expecting t to be done- after all it is such a special day and you are perfectly justified in wanting things done to your satisfaction. I am just so pleased we were able to deliver.All your guests were a delight to look after and you and Jim are such a lovely couple it made our job so much easier.Thank you for the photographs - they show the hotel and the area off beautifully. Enjoy married life and come back and see us soon. Best Regards, Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

...I doubt it! The Wellpark is stunning amid a beautiful setting. And it is as well run as it is beautiful.

We were in the Shamrock room with a wide oriel window overlooking the western Kyles of Bute -- a breathtaking view in any weather. The bed was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The owners have taken care to address all the details. The circa 1900 bathroom may be the nicest we've seen anywhere in Europe.

The common areas of the hotel, too, are comfortable, relaxing, and nicely furnished. Perfect for reading a book, talking, or simply sitting quietly.

And then there is the food. We were traveling with our 20-year-old daughter, so collectively sampled only three entrees. The venison was exceptionally tasty and prepared with just enough flair. My wife had the steak -- cooked to perfection and very flavorful (I tested it), and my daughter the stuffed chicken breast. All the food was simply fantastic. Ann is a master in the kitchen, and a delight in conversation.

And, while you're there be sure to take some time looking at Colin's photography. His sailing pictures are really stunning. It's worth a good while just wandering about.

I'm searching for at least one little complaint, but cannot find one.

Room Tip: Get the Shamrock room if available (although we didn't see the others). Even the sofa bed my dau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneandColin, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Nick, thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Wellpark. We are so pleased you loved this beautiful old house as much as we did when we first saw it and you are right the Edwardian bathroom is amazing despite it's quirks! Colin was very flattered to read your comments on his photography and I am particularly pleased you enjoyed the local produce served in our restaurant. As you visit Scotland regularly we hope you will come back to see us in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Anne & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed in this amazing hotel for one night in the superior room with a rolled top bath, complimentary sherry and a stunning view over the Kyles of Bute.
Tighnabruaich is a hidden haven, quaint, quiet and peaceful.
A truly luxurious place at the same price as an ordinary hotel.
Our bikes were safely locked indoors and we were made to feel welcome and special.
Don't go anywhere else for food as the food here is fabulous.

Room Tip: Get the superior room - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneandColin, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Andy C, Thank you so much for your very kind review following your recent impromptu stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed this wonderful, peaceful village as well as the hospitality offered at Wellpark. Please come and see us again when you are next in this beautiful part of the world. Enjoy the summer cycling your way around the countryside. Best Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent a very enjoyable and relaxing couple of days in Tighnabruaich which was all the better through staying at the Wellpark - a very welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, clean, good food in pleasant surroundings. All in all a lovely hotel with very attentive owner/staff. Loved it, great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneandColin, Owner at Wellpark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Lawrence & Margaret, Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Wellpark. We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about your all too brief visit to this beautiful part of the world. Now you know we are not too far away we do hope you will return soon. Best Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
1.2 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
8.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellpark Hotel

Property: Wellpark Hotel
Address: Wellpark Wellpark SHORE, Tighnabruaich PA21 2EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellpark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant house known as Wellpark provides comfortable accommodation in large stylish rooms, which retain many original features,with a warm welcoming atmosphere.Public rooms are very spacious and take in the magnificent sea views from huge windows making the most of this truly wonderful, tranquil location. We look forward to welcoming you for some traditional quality hospitality ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wellpark Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing