We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect recharge”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for just one night on 31/3/12 stay at the Royal. Wish it could have been for longer. Hope to do it again sometime.

We had a lovely bright & spacious sea facing room on the first floor, lovely food and lovely weather for our visit.

We arrived just before 4pm and promptly ordered some drinks from the bar. We were served by Keith the owner, who was busy setting up the fire in the bar with logs and kindling. He was very pleasant to us, and did not come across at all like the person some people have described in previous reviews. That might say more about the reviewers though, lol.

We took our drinks to the beer garden at the front of the hotel. When this area went in to shade it was still sunny across the road at the shoreline, so we took our drinks over to the slipway and skimmed stones with not a care in the world.

We had pre-dinner drinks in a really nice area with leather settees looking out across the water and got to meet Keith's wife Christine. She is a lovely open and honest person and really looks after her customers. I do hope the plants have benefited from our discussion Christine!

Dinner was served in the modern Deck Restaurant. My husband didn't like what he had ordered for his main course (his fault, not the Hotel's) and Christine changed it without any qualms. I had langoustines followed by duck, then the cheeseboard - all delicious, but I did think the cheeseboard portion was a bit miserable. Hubbie had tempura squid, sorry can't remember his second choice main and some fab dessert, and he was very happy with this.

Breakfast next morning was served in a different sea facing & bright room, with gleaming cutlery & white starched tablecloths. We had the works and did not need to eat again until the evening. My husband adored the spiced apricots. If you read this Christine - what's the recipe?

I just keep wanting to call everything here lovely. I think I may have used that word too often in this review, but it's true. Our wee night away was just what we needed to recharge the batteries. Two nights would have been even better!

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    133
    28
    21
    8
See reviews for
29
365
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night half board break booked via 5pm.co.uk. We were really impressed from start to finish. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere with excellent service, food etc. Neither my wife or i had been to this corner of the country but given it was less than 2 hours from Glasgow we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlandonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Visited this lovely hotel on a itison.com voucher and loved it. Beautiful location. Gorgeous sea view from the room. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The cosy room with open fires was great to relax in after dinner. The highlight was a delicious meal in the restaurant, looking out through the huge windows at the sun coming down over the water. Would definitely go back. The only thing I didn't really like were the black cushions on the bed! Got great deal in price too.

Room Tip: The sea view room we stayed in had such a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed one night at this lovely hotel. Wish we could have extended our trip. Lovely room and views, delicious food and attentive staff. We also enjoyed the lively Shinty Bar. The owners Keith and Christine couldn't have been more welcoming. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Sadly only spent one night in this wonderful hotel situated in one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland, but will definitely return to enjoy the experience of wonderful hospitality, fantastic location, comfortable bedroom, lovely ambiance and delicious food. Well done to all the staff at this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Although we didn't take our dog this time, some bedrooms are dog-friendly which is a bonus as fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Myself and my boyfriend had booked over the Easter weekends for our birthdays. On arrival at the hotel we where welcomed by a lovely member of staff, did not get her name but she was on over the whole weekend and was helpful at every juncture. Our room was lovely and spacious with some period features which we both love. The first night we where booked in for dinner and had an amazing dinner, the langoustine's which we had been so looking forward to did not disappoint in the slightness. Service was top notch with the exact timing between courses, and a very relaxed atmosphere. Having had a sea view room I would not have anything else in the future as the scenery is amazing.....one thing we would change is that we go next time in the early summer to see what must be a spectacular sight of all the flowering wild Roddies! Thank you!

Room Tip: Always sea view, adds to the romance of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The food was very good/excellent if a little fussy. We could have been the judges on a TV cooking show! The service is friendly and unprententious though we did not seem to keep one waiter/waitress thoughout the meal. At one point I thought another customer was trying to take my plate away but it turned out to be a waiter in mufti!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.6 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
436 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
112 reviews
23.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Property: The Royal an Lochan
Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing