We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Sorry for the delay in posting.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate her 50th birthday on 20 April.
We loved everything about the hotel. Location is everything and you could not want for any more.
The internal furnishings and accommodation are excellent.
The food is to die for.
The staff are always on hand and could do no more for us.
What are you waiting for?
Book a stay now.

A good tip for lunch one day is to take a trip to The Oystercatcher at Otter Ferry which is only a short drive.
Believe me the journey is well worth the view when you get there.

Room Tip: I asked for a front facing room.The room was excellent.Who needs the telly in the room.Just soak in...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saabfreak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

When Keith & I fell in love with our hotel, we fell hook line and sinker for the building and took the location for granted, but within weeks of being here and working in the restaurant we realised what a stunning outlook we had. As you will probably have noticed you can watch the weather changing from the south end of the Kyles up to the north end. During the summer the setting sun lights up the island of Bute, highlighting all the colours of the heather's. This is a truly stunning place to live as well as to visit. We are glad you chose to celebrate a special birthday with us and look forward to your return, hopefully before a 60th! Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for The Royal an Lochan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Royal the staff were so attentive and the food excellent. We had a wonderful view from our bedroom and when we requested a table for dinner with a view, the staff kindly obliged. We would definately recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.
Thanks again to all at the Royal for our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review, all our staff work really hard to make everyone's stay as good as possible, everyone of them from the pot washer and housekeeper to the front of house team. We are fortunate to have such a good team and are confident that when need be we can leave them to run the hotel without us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We've just returned from a perfect weekend at The Royal. I was told beforehand by Christine that we could not be given a sea view - they were almost full when I phoned - and I didn't mind this in the least. We had a most spacious, warm and comfortable room with a huge bathroom. We're short of space at home so this was luxury. Every single staff member was professional and friendly and took time to chat to us. The food was very good and that view from the dining room...will return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhalavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

It is so nice to get 3 reviews on the trot with 5/5 ratings. Thank you so much for being the third and for spending the time to share your experience with us. As you were able to find out, our rear/garden rooms are just as nice and spacious as our front, sea view rooms, they just lack that spectacular view. However, you are able to enjoy that view from most of the public areas within the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your return. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Booked on a special 2 night DBB deal and couldn't help wondered if we might get a small room and corner table with no view for dinner. Well this certainly didn't happen and we had a first class customer experience and this hotel has the WOW factor.

Apologies for forgetting names, but really must applaud all the staff and in particular the lady originally from Zimbabwe as she really was fabulous and had a lovely cheerful manner and delightful way in dealing with the customers - She even called us prior to arrival to see if we wanted booked for dinner and remind us the restaurant closed at 8.30pm, however they were most accommodating and kept it open for us as we arrived slightly later having taken a wrong turn.

The evening meals were beautifully presented and tasted amazing, with the best cheese cake we have ever tasted. Breakfast again exceeded our expectations with a lovely choice of cereals, porridge, mixed berries etc and not a drop of grease on the lovely tasty English breakfast.

Strongly recommend you stay at this beautifully presented and friendly hotel with fantastic views in one of the prettiest parts of Scotland.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely though the mattress was a little bit soft for my particular preference - So maybe...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Keith and I pride ourselves in our choice of staff and go to great lengths to keep the right people. We always say that our hotel is based on the type of hotel we like to stay in, and that would be a small hotel, where the staff are friendly but do not overstep the mark, where nothing is too much trouble and lastly somewhere to relax and forget about the rest of the world. We hope that we provide all this to our guests and more. Please do not get upset but can I just point out one minor error in your review, you had a Scottish breakfast with us, (including haggis!) not an English! (lol) We look forward to welcoming you back, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed in the an Lochan with my wife for three nights. We had a really nice sea view room on a great DBB deal. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more attentive. Really nice service during both of the dinners we had and a great breakfast too! Will definitely be back! Thanks to you all for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for putting the time aside to write a lovely review. TripAdvisor can be a very powerful marketing tool, one that we hope can spread the word about what The Royal an Lochan can offer and this can only be done by someone like yourselves taking time to write such a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back through our front door. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just back from a most enjoyable weekend, The Hotel is warm and welcoming and the staff were amazing, very friendly and polite and always had a smile. The room we had was room number 8 it had a fantastic view and the bathroom was wonderful my hubby fell in love with the bathroom as it was very spacious with a corner shower and a seperate bath. The bed was way too firm for my liking and as a result i could not sleep on both nights ( this has happened on many an occasion in other hotels ) think im just wee bit fussy!! but this is why i never reviewed it as excellent, as other than this i could not fault the place at all. The food is TOO DIE FOR!!! we both ate three courses on both nights and cleared out plate each time, the breakfast was equally as good so top marks on that score. The Lounge is very warm and welcoming and is a perfect setting for pre dinner drinks or lazy afternoons. will be very much looking forward to a return visit, will ask for a softer bed next time but the main point is that there will definitely be a Next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brockybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review. Beds and their mattresses sometimes cause the most stress in my life. When we purchased the hotel we were relieved to find the previous owners had spent wisely and purchased good quality mattresses. The majority of our mattresses are on the harder side although there are a few that are not, please take note of our review 'Fabulous Food, Excellent staff and lovely Hotel' where room 10 mattress was too soft for this reviewers liking. So next time you come to stay be sure to ask for room 10, which is a lovely corner room with duel aspect windows and a traditional metal sprung bed and mattress. We look forward to your return visit. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed for Easter, this was our second stay here we stayed for august bank holiday last year, and it will not be our last,
the rooms are very comfortable, we always ask for a sea view and they are fantastic with views over the Kyles of Bute,
the food is also very good, breakfast and dinner,
the people Keith & Chrisine (owners) are always welcoming nothing is too much trouble, Andrea & Gabi are a fantastic asset to the Hotel, very nice people, very good at their job!!
and the new guys Anton and Polly had only arrived a few days before us, so were a bit shy but they were very good and will be great, We recommend a must stay here if you visit Scotland.
Heather & Trevor Haynes

Room Tip: we like a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorH674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to see guests returning time after time. I am sorry I could not spend as much time with you as I would have wished, but I am sure the rest of the team made up for my absence. We are looking forward to your next visit just as much as you are! Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
7.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
450 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
120 reviews
23.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,477 reviews
8.3 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing