We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great food, really great staff & the wines were great value too!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, great food, really great staff & the wines were great value too!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Following the recommendation by a certain Tom Kitchin for the "Royal" my wife and I had a FAB night at the hotel. The location of the hotel is superb and is enhanced even more if the weather is kind and it was spot on when we were there. We just sat outside happily topping the tan on the hotel's reasonably priced Sauvignon Blanc!
The staff of the hotel from the moment we checked in were as good as I've seen in any hotel and I've been lucky enough to stay in a few 5* ones who didn't have the 5* staff of the Royal.
The mine host is also the Chef & he does no mean job, that's why Mr Kitchin likes it, menu was concise but suited our tastes! Couldn't fault what we had and we managed to share a Banoffee cheesecake to boot! Smashing!
For what we paid for the deal it was a steal! We will be back, for sure..................! Keep up the good work!! :)

Room Tip: Room 3 gives a stunning view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray7865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Sorry for my delayed response, it is nice to say that it is because we are so busy! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Tom Kitchen actually ate here on a night Keith was cooking as well and we can not thank him enough for putting us on the map for our seafood! Rooms 3 and 9 I believe are the best, with their bay window view, although you do have a smaller bathroom than other rooms. I have been known to ask a guest if they prefer a large bathroom with roll top bath or a seat in the bay window with 180 degree view of the Kyles, i know which one i would like!! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal an Lochan. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    133
    28
    21
    8
See reviews for
29
365
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We went as a family had a fantastic time !!!! Setting was beautiful hotel was lovely & staff were fantastic !!!!!! Would recommend to anyone xxxx. Honestly you couldn't fault a thing Even if u tried x just don't ask for fish & chips didn't go down too well a ha ha xxxx actually do. Ask for it for a laugh :) x

Room Tip: We stayed room 9 &10 beautiful looking over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your review and the coment about the Fish and Chips,and in a light hearted way, let me set the record straight, please do not ask to have fish and chips in the restaurant in the evening, we do not serve them no matter how hard you try to be nice to me! We have a bar menu and a restaurant menu which are eaten in two totally different enviroments. So anyone dares to ask for Fish and Chips in the restaurant, beware!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is just great. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Our room was on the second floor and had breathtaking views over the Kyles of Bute. It was spacious and airy with a large well appointed bathroom. The staff were pleasant and chatty and I must thank Andrea who served us dinner on the first night. She was lovely. The food was amazing and it is no wonder the restaurant has been recommended by a Michelin star chef. We stayed for two nights and left feeling refreshed and relaxed. Mind you, it was the hottest week in Scotland for quite a number of years, which always helps. The owners, Keith and Christine, are celebrating their third year this summer and they run a very fine establishment. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room at the front of the hotel. Well worth it as the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcase-susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you Suitcase-Susie for your review. We will pass your comments on to Andrea. It is quite amazing the following we have gained in our 3 yrs and how we have turned this hotel around, from the failed business that we bought to a thriving busy hotel. So now you have found a wonderful place to relax we hope to see you back soon. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just called to book a 2 night stay with our 6 year old which was fine until we mentioned we had a 5pm voucher. Then we were told no children were allowed even if we paid extra, or do you just not want us to use our voucher. This is a total rip off, your could accomodate until we said we had a voucher....shocking,

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Avril L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
I asked TripAdvisor to remove your review as you did not actually stay at our hotel but they say that yours is a 'Customer experience' and will not be removed.
For the record and for all the other readers to understand, you purchased a voucher that clearly said " Sorry, no children can be accommodated on this offer", the problem was not with the voucher, which as you said we could accommodate you, the problem was that there were no rooms allocated to these vouchers that can take an extra bed for a child. In future please ensure you read the offer carefully before purchasing and giving a bad review on TripAdvisor which is undeserved. I am sure 5pm will have given you a full refund. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked a two night deal on 5pm website to celebrate my 70th birthday. One can never be sure what to expect on these 'specials' but we could not have hoped for better. The room was spacious and the view to die for. The service from the staff was excellent and the food top class. Congratulations Christine and Keith. A first class experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your 'First Class' review, we try very hard to make your stay as good as possible, from the moment you make that enquiry to the moment you check out. Our hotel is all about what we would like to see in a hotel that we may stay in, so it is very personal to us when people have enjoyed or not enjoyed there stay. Hope to see you again soon. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here. We were most impressed with the service which could not have been more attentive.Our room was clean and well appointed with a splendid large bathroom. Some areas are looking a bit faded but I am sure that the relatively new owners will have a programme of refurbishment in mind since much has already been undertaken.
Or food on both evenings and breakfasts was as good as we have tasted in Michelin starred establishments. Congratulations to the chef and all staff, Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rals2nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Our food is most definitely the area that gets the most comments and to have it compared to a Michelin star restaurant is fabulous, thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and yes we are working our way through the hotel bringing it back to life but it is amazing how much time that takes. We look forward to seeing you back with us sometime in the future. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Sorry for the delay in posting.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate her 50th birthday on 20 April.
We loved everything about the hotel. Location is everything and you could not want for any more.
The internal furnishings and accommodation are excellent.
The food is to die for.
The staff are always on hand and could do no more for us.
What are you waiting for?
Book a stay now.

A good tip for lunch one day is to take a trip to The Oystercatcher at Otter Ferry which is only a short drive.
Believe me the journey is well worth the view when you get there.

Room Tip: I asked for a front facing room.The room was excellent.Who needs the telly in the room.Just soak in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saabfreak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
When Keith & I fell in love with our hotel, we fell hook line and sinker for the building and took the location for granted, but within weeks of being here and working in the restaurant we realised what a stunning outlook we had. As you will probably have noticed you can watch the weather changing from the south end of the Kyles up to the north end. During the summer the setting sun lights up the island of Bute, highlighting all the colours of the heather's. This is a truly stunning place to live as well as to visit. We are glad you chose to celebrate a special birthday with us and look forward to your return, hopefully before a 60th! Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
317 reviews
7.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
113 reviews
23.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Property: The Royal an Lochan
Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing