We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wanted a quiet break and got it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A two hour drive from Glasgow with some "via" options on the way, Tighnabruich is quite accessible from the Central belt.
We wanted a quiet couple of nights away from home and chose the Royal an Lochan for it's reputation, not necessarily gained from Tripadvisor.
We did indeed have a voucher and were apprehensive as to our reception. No worries on this as Keith and Christine made us extremely welcome, and in fact Christine who multitasks, even gave us a wee history lesson on the locale. We chose a sea view room, the scenery being quite mesmerising, at night being illuminated by the full moon!
The food was very good, with an emphasis on fish but other options are available.
It is a Victorian hotel, built to service the many travelers who arrived by steamer from ports further up the Firth of Clyde and Glasgow.
It is very comfortable and we enjoyed the open fires with a refreshment before our evening meal. Staff very pleasant and service excellent.
We would hope to return!

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We try our hardest to make guests feel welcome and relaxed from the minute they walk across our threshold, whether they are on a voucher deal or paying full price! As 'incomers' I have made a point of learning some of the local history so that I can help guests visualise what Tighnabruaich was like in the Victorian days of paddle steamers and an abundance of shops and local fare, which unfortunately is not in the same quantity although it is there if we show you. Walking, cycling, chilling out and relaxing is what Tighnabruaich is all about and as you say you 'wanted a quiet break and got it!' We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

just back from a wee overnight stay, hotel very nice, lovely food and a friendly welcolme, enjoyed sitting by the sofa watching the cosy fire before dinner.Tighnabruaich is a nice little town, we didnt stray too far from the hotel, enjoyed the views from our bedroom window too much, Staff are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room with the rolltop bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JACQUELINE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Jacqueline, thank you for yet another lovely review from another satisfied customer. The scenery here is stunning and I can understand how hard it is to tear your self away from the bedroom window with views looking up and down the Kyles of Bute. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on another escape from the rat race! Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent welcome. Excellent hosts. Excellent room. Excellent dinner. Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. Excellent scenery. Excellent value. Running out of "excellents". Outstanding in all respects.

This hotel is a gem that far exceeds it's tourist board 3 stars. The hotel is impeccably presented, clean and well decorated with outstanding local artwork for sale

Room Tip: Unable to remove rating for swimming pool. There is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Nicky, thank you so much for all those "excellents", we must be doing something right! I must say it is a blessing that the gallery is in the village otherwise the most outstanding pictures could be my collection of Disney prints. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to The Royal an Lochan one day. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights end of April, lovely room with sea view, breakfast superb but a bit late starting 8.30am?, ate in the hotel restuarant both evenings and the seafood dishes were lovely. Very friendly staff, overall a very good two days. The Hotel bar is cosy and the locals make you very welcome, homely place worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you John for a nice review. When we first took over the hotel breakfast didn't start till 9am and my thoughts are half the day is wasted by that time. We thought about an 8am breakfast but the majority of our guests come down between 8.30 and 9am. We therefore plumped for an 8.30am start. We hope to see you back again to enjoy our stunning location. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Booked at the royal an lochan as it was advertised on amazon, and seemed like a very attractive deal.. was really apprehensive as I had never been to tighnabruaich before and didn't know what to expect from the royal an lochan and tighnabruaich itself. Let me tell you, if you are looking for total relaxation, a couple of days of chilling out with a loved one, then you cannot pick a better spot than tighnabruaich or the royal an lochan. Stayed in room 8, sea facing room, very very comfortable bed with an assortment of comfortable pillows, room had usual amenities, tea, coffee, drinking water, tv, dvd player, (dvd library available in residents conservatory area) excellent bathroom almost as big as the bedroom if not bigger! With shower and roll top bath, definitely a 5* bathroom in a 3* establishment. The owners Keith and Christine are wonderful and welcoming you can tell they work tirelessly to run this fine establishment and really make you feel as you are a invited guest, me and my partner enjoyed our time in Keith and Christines lounge which had leather sofas 2 traditional fireplaces which look so inviting in the evening. We spent time playing monopoly there on our first night, (board games taken from games cupboard in the residents lounge) moving onto the food! The restraunt was light airy fresh with excellent views across the kyles of bute, now the food! Wow I over indulged over both nights... 3 courses each night! The cheese board to die for, and the goat's cheese beignet starter was so good my partner decided to have it as a main on the second night. .. the haddock and leek tart was perfect and left me wanting more. To accompany the superlative food there is a wine list available to cater for all tastes. Moving onto the bar. The shinty bar really gives you a back in time feel... completely suitable for tighnabruaich, small, personal, cosy, relaxing, log fire, I could have spent hours eating and drinking there, had lunch with my partner once again bar meals were wonderful, breakfast was adequate, and coffee was some of the best I have ever tasted. All in all it was a joyous 2 days of relaxation and charging the batteries. .. who needs spa's and saunas. .. go to tighnabruaich and stay at the royal an lochan, an amazing stay with brilliant service and wonderful rooms and food. Thank you Keith amd Christine hope to see you soon. Amjed ali

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amj79774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

WOW! Thank you Amjed, what a review! It was a pleasure having you both to stay with us. From the moment you booked we had a feeling you needed to chill out and unwind! Well that is just what you and your lovely girlfriend did. I hope we catered for your dietary requirements and as there were no complaints I assume we did. In Tighnabruaich we do not have supermarkets, tourist attractions with blaring lights or late night drinking sessions, we have peace and tranquillity and a chance to unwind and watch the world sail by! We look forward to welcoming you both back and maybe by car this time not public transport and you will have more chance to explore this "Secret Coast" Till the next time, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just came back after a 2 nite stay at the Royal an Lochan and must say it was more than we expected .The hotel was lovley ,rooms were beautiful with stunning views ,we were on the top floor which was even beter.The food and the presentation of it was amazing .top marks to the chef .and must say the choice of wines were great as well.The owners are very welcoming .and also special mention to the manager and manageress who made our stay very enjoyable .we will definately return thanks for a great stay .Ann & Jim x

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea facing room .stunning !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for a lovely review, Keith and I try our best to employ staff that can make your stay the best it can be. Our Head Chef Raymond O'Neill is a gem but don't tell him I said that. We are getting so many good comments about our food and our hospitality and this is what makes the long hours and hard work worth while. I am, as an employer, very proud of my staff and the way in which they all interact with the guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal an Lochan sometime in the future. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stunning location and the views from the hotel are worth the drive along the single track roads. The food is top class and the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, clean and well furnished. Ours had a sea view which was a joy to wake up to. I will recommend the hotel to friends but like the previous reviewer I'm disappointed they don't allow dogs anymore. I travelled with a friend this trip but normally my husband and I take our dog with us when we travel so I'm unlikely to return. We have been travelling with our dog for 7 years without incident and we are happy to pay extra because we accept that extra cleaning is necessary to avoid inconveniencing other guests. Note to owners: can you think about perhaps restricting pets to one bedroom?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so much for a good review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with your friend. We take on board all comments made by our guests whether they be good or bad and the decision to not take dogs within the hotel was not an easy one. We had already restricted dogs to 3 rooms, 2 sea view and one rear bedroom. However on numerous occasions in the summer we were left with rooms we could not sell the next day because of either damage or the smell of wet dogs. The majority of our guests with dogs respected our rules of no dogs on the furniture etc but as I have said before the minority have spoilt it for the majority. We are sorry that you will not be returning and hope that you find somewhere equally as nice to spend your breaks with your husband and your dog. Kind regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.7 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
285 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
465 reviews
3.8 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing