We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best sleep for ages!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillview Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living room wood burning stove and leather sofa
Living room and dining table
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom view from Kitchen
Conservatory
Bridge over the Allt Dubh stream in front of cottage
Cottage in winter snow
Cottage from West side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PAUL A
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best sleep for ages!”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our first holiday without electricity, and it was everything we hoped for. A total switch off from the outside world and have to say we have never slept better. The stove, fireplace in the bedroom and the candlelight made it so cosy and relaxing. The only noise was from the waterfall. Lovely to see deer, bats and red squirrels from the cottage. The conservatory was a delight to get away from the midges and has nice views over to Bute. The grounds are well kept and easy to walk around, offering different places to sit and take in the scenery. Hope to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Great to hear you enjoyed the escape! It was a privilege and pleasure to play host. Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Love it! ”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We absolutely love it here. This is our fourth time. The views are stunning, this year we saw quite a few deer, we had a pair of pheasants visit the cottage and a red squirrel came daily to the bird table - well worth investing in some nuts! The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could need. No electricity and no phone signal is bliss for the week. Our dogs and boys mucked about in the burn almost every day. There are superb walks nearby. Ostel beach is beautiful, definitely one to visit. We're booked up again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for such a glowing review; so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and continue to discover more in this beautiful area. It is such a pleasure and privilege to play host once again. Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
1 review
“Lovely Hill Cottage”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful week. The cosy cottage and its setting are both perfect. There is wildlife from the cottage window and walks from the door. There are boats to watch including the Waverley, and convenient shops in Tighnabruaich and Kames.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and it is so rewarding to receive such feedback. It was such a privilege and pleasure to play host. Lovely to meet you all too. Very best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonmum
portlethen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and unique”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Me and my three children came here last summer. The kids haven't stopped speaking about it since.
A beautiful cottage in a stunning setting. Peter, the owner was very helpful and friendly.
getting away from technology was Bliss

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxdaniS
1 review
“Christmas getaway”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were stunned by the beautiful scenery on driving from the ferry terminal.
The views are alpine like.....words cannot describe how breathtaking the vista is.
On the drive to Tighnabruaich we were stunned by the unspolit beauty and sheer magnitude of the mountains.
Hill Cottage is a true gem.....set in the most remarkable spot on the mountain.....we were not expecting just how wonderfully peaceful and idyllic it is.
Peter is very genial and helpful and his concern for our safe arrival and comfort was touching.
On arrival the stove was lit, wood for this and the bedroom fire was in abundance.
The cottage was very clean, cosy and all equipped for a comfortable and romantic break.
Lovely of an evening to eat by candlelight with a nice glass of wine that was waiting for us on arrival.
Equally lovely was eating breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the loch.
We have fallen in love with Hill Cottage, Tighnabruaich and the surrounding area.
The waterfalls surrounding the place are magical.....we really didn't want to leave.
We loved it so much that we have booked for 2 weeks for our holiday this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
It was such a privilege to host Roxanne, Mike, Dara and Rosie, they were superb communicators, considerate and conscientious. So glad to hear they enjoyed the romantic scenic setting and great to hear they will be returning, we very much welcome the opportunity to play host to them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemsgrace...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a wonderful, truly remote cottage which gives a genuine rustic experience. It's so peaceful and a real 'get away from it all' place. The landscape and views are spectacular and if it is too chilly to sit outside, there is a fabulous little conservatory to view the scenery. The land the cottage is set within is great to explore and it's just awesome to have a mountain stream with waterfalls in such close proximity.

You can take walks straight from the cottage door or explore further afield by car. The weather changed frequently while I was there which is all part of the adventure but I was glad I had taken warm and waterproof clothes for all conditions!

The wood burning stove provides heat and hot water and the fire in the main bedroom also provides additional heat if needed. The candle lanterns are a great experience instead of electric lights!

The owner has put a lot of thought and care into the cottage and has provided all the equipment and instructions you need for staying in such a unique place as well as suggestions of what to do and see in the area. He clearly loves the cottage and wants his guests to have the best experience.

If you want a remote and rustic experience, I would highly recommend this fabulous cottage !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness and the scenery.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;