We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated - Staff need some training” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over rated - Staff need some training”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I‘ve eaten here a few times, because I can put aside the rude staff and cramped atmosphere. The food is good, if a little pricey for what you get. We were in a group of six and waited 30 minutes for a table, without a ‘hello, how are you?‘ - or ‘we‘ll save a the next table for you‘... which was annoying when a couple of local young lads came in and snapped up a table, refused to move, bought 2 pints then sat on their phones texting... No offence, but a table of six people eating and drinking will make you a lot more money than the local text team.

When we finally got our seat... but not before having to force it from someone else who was about to take it... we then have to choose our food and order at the bar... including drinks...
Eventually food arrives. It‘s as good as you‘ll get in Tighnabruiach/Kames unless you want to remortgage your house and go to the Royal An Lochan. I‘d recommend the fish and chips... trust me... don‘t venture off in this place... stick to a safe fish n chips. Fresh fish, but sadly frozen pees and chips... and a semi palatable tartar sauce - but all tastes ok. What happened to these little towns, the Scottish food used to be great?

As I said, its a struggle but the food is ok and it seems to be the busiest place in the area, but they could have a better system where its first come first served or even take names of who‘s waiting rather than let people try work it out for themselves because that will blow up in their faces one day. And the staff could be a bit cheerier... I know its tough living in the sticks but for lords sake, crack a smile.

I give them ten out of ten - for being better than the Burnside Bistro - which was just awful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DustbinHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    76
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
135
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We chose this hotel based on good reviews on Tripadvisor and a good overall impression gained from their website. After a long day touring and site seeing in the region we were looking forward to a leisurely dinner in the hotel restaurant and a relaxing drink in the bar. Unfortunately there was a function in the dining room which we had not been told about so we were told we would have to eat in the bar. The bar was very overcrowded so we had to eat outside alongside the smokers and amongst the midges. The meal was served quickly but was very poor - not at all the standard that we expected. I think the kitchen was simply overstretched because of the function. Sadly this spoiled an otherwise perfect weekend break to Argyll.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakeItSimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Enjoyed a nice bar meal during July visit. Decent value for money. Service was pretty good and nice atmosphere in bar. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Menu not huge but enough variety on display including fresh fish courses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Cowal Peninsula. What a place. On tourist maps, the Kames Hotel is advertised as promising a warm welcome. It also promised coffee and meals and the like. On 31st July 2013, we found this place, which is in a most scenic spot. The sun shone. The picnic tables were outside. It was just before midday- late morning coffee time, in fact. Through the door, I saw it, the coffee machine, ready to spring into action. But... the floor was being cleaned, so we did not go in; the staff were arguing loudly about who bore the responsibility for answering a mobile phone. I (on my heels, so that I did not dirty the floor), went in to ask whether we could trouble them for a coffee. No. They were not open. Maybe in 5 or 10 minutes, but not then. The complete absence of hospitality or thought or flexibility is absurd and a sorry disappointment when compared with its rivals and its beautiful surroundings.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband, the dog and I were looking for a place to lay our heads near Tighnabruaich for one night and we booked in to the Kames Hotel. We booked in to a family room, sea view, £45 per person B&B. Lovely room for the money, beautiful views. Bathroom very small but we were only there for one night so no big deal for us, powerful shower. Nice toiletries. We arrived lunch time-ish, check in was quick and pleasant, taken up to our room and offered help with our bags. Came down for lunch, my prawn cocktail starter was very substantial and lovely bread. My husband had a smoked fish starter with horseradish cream which was quite small. We ate outside in the sunshine, very pleasant, chatty and cheery service. Had dinner in the bar area as outside was full. Nice dinner, Good size portions. Varied menu. Good choice of specials. My husband has scallops and risotto, 9 or 10 scallops, very generous. Breakfast menu provided great choice, we went for the full Scottish which was very good, very pleasant service. Very nicely decorated restaurant. The only downsides for us was the room we were in was directly above the main door and patrons leaving the bar after having a few beers were rather noisy so we got to sleep at 1.30am and the duvets were 10.5 tog and when were were there the temperature was up at 28 degrees c, summer duvets would be a good idea BUT the staff are delightful, this hotel is great value in my opinion, we were made very welcome and an added bonus for us was the dog was welcomed with open arms. We will go again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We ate in the hotel on two occasions last weekend and each time the food was lovely. Large, varied menu, good home cooked food and all served by friendly staff. The location is lovely with a view to the water from the front.I can recommend the fish and (homemade) chips - delicious, as was the pasta dish, the steak pie and the burger(there were 4 of us). I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Went today sat 6 th July for tea n scones , lovely wee pub/ restrauant / hotel, parking not good , but very busy , not enough staff , prices for meals like rest of area a bit expensive , our scones were tiny but lovely n homemade . £3.50 a we but overpriced but a nice place n clean .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.5 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Property: The Kames Hotel
Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing