We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

we stayed in the kames Hotel for 2 nights. Our room had a fabulous view even the mist over the hills was awesome. The bed was comfy and the room had everything we needed. All staff we encountered during our stay were welcoming and attentive and the atmosphere was friendly and homely. A lovely restful break.

Room Tip: room 9 has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank songster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    76
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
135
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and again such a wonderful experience. You simply cannot beat the view when you look out of your window, just beautiful. The staff are really friendly, it feels like a very happy family home. The hotel bustles with locals which to me is a very good indication of how the hotel is recieved by the community. The adjoining bar was busy, happy, full of chatter and on the night we stayed included a musical extravaganza of local musicians sat round a table with some happy, wig-clad folks enjoying the lovely atmosphere of the night! We also ate an evening meal in the lovely stately dining room which is very tastefully decorated, incorporating the original victorian features of a grand house. This room is quieter if you feel like having a peaceful meal and the quality and variety of items on the menu is just superb. We had prawns wrapped in haddock and cheese roulade on a bed of crushed potatoes and fresh vegetables, it was delicious! Our friends had what they described as a "Whale like portion of battered fish!" with chips and mushy peas. Others had Mussels which looked fantasic, large, meaty and tasty. There were 7 of us in total and with our various needs we were all catered for in the most patient and satisfactory manner. Faultless service and happy to oblige. Breakfast was lovely too, served again in the lovely dining room. We arrived downstairs to the smell of freshly brewed coffee and a choice of cereals, juice, speciality teas and a breakfast menu with much variety. From porridge to a full cooked breakfast of quality local produce, or eggs cooked any way imaginable! You could ask for nothing more. There was no limit to tea, fresh juice, coffee, tea or toast. We didn't feel rushed and these folks were busy! Our room was beautiful, we had a front facing room which was tastefully decorated,spacious, quiet and spotlessly clean. Fantastic value for money. We will be back again in October. Another rather nice personal service was the courtesy phone call a few days before to confirm booking and evening meals times which I find reassuring when I am going to stay somewhere so I know everything is ready and they are well prepared for us. Happy, happy, happy customer indeed! Thank you, you lovely people!

Room Tip: Ask for the front facing rooms, but to be honest they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for work (I am a wedding photographer) along with my husband who came along for the ride.

We stayed in a small room in the eaves of the house which for £55/ night was excellent value for money, and I'd say the room exceeded what we'd ordinarily expect to find at this price range - it was clean and modern with a TV with a small window looking out onto the water.

The hotel itself is nicely, but simply decorated on the inside and has lots of fancier, and more expensive rooms which would make it an ideally located romantic break.

Breakfast was food but I felt the portions were a wee bit stingy. But maybe I'm just greedy!

Best of all was the bar downstairs, you never know if you're going to be faced with a 'true' hotel bar, somewhere soulless and with only guests sitting quietly, morosely nursing their drinks and there was none of that - it was the local and was especially lively on Friday and Saturday nights, and leaving my husband there whilst I worked on Saturday, he soon found a crop of drinking compadres.

There isn't much to do in the local area but it is located in and amongst some stunning scenery and I imagine walking and watersports are pretty popular in the summer.

All in all good value but with plenty of character.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in price and quality, from 'good value' to fairly fancy, so read the website care...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellieaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Dropped in for lunch with friends who were old customers at the hotel. Very welcoming. Good selection of drinks. Swift service and well cooked meals. I had a Scottish beef burger with home cooked chips. Very delicious. Coffee to finish. Would love to return when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longtown, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had a great weekend at the Kames hotel. Lovely room, stunning views, great breakfast, exceptional hospitality,Situated on the kyles of Bute the scenery was breathtaking. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was lovely, I had a homemade veggie burger which was probably the best veggie burger I've ever had. I also had the cheese board which was also great. Can't recommend this hotel enough. Can't wait for our return trip :) xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garelochhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel as a belated valentines treat and was not disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, the hotel location is stunning, overlooking Bute. We had room number 4 which is probably the best at the hotel, 1st floor with a large bay window that allows/gives you excellent views of the bay. We found the hotel bar to be friendly relaxing and welcoming with local Loch Fyne ales on draught which was a bonus, Saturday afternoon / evening was just a chill out zone. Ate in the hotel on both nights and found the food to be good quality, traditional and wholesome, as were the breakfasts on both days, with a large variety on offer, from the traditional full Scottish to a fresh grilled Loch Fyne kipper. Will be recommending to all out friends and going back later in the year for more of the same! Oh and yes, the dogs loved it too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McBoxergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having visited the Kames Hotel too many times to count over the past 20 years to take advantage of their excellent food, last weekend marked my first overnight stay.

First, let me say the Kames Hotel is ideally placed to provide stunning views down the Kyles of Bute and over to Bute itself, weather permitting of course. Situated on a hillside the hotel looks down to a pebbly beach about 100 yards below and along towards Tighnabruaich, its pier (visited by Waverley in the summer months) and the moorings beyond. There are few better locations in the area, so my first piece of advice when booking is to make sure you ask for a front-facing room, otherwise you'll be staring into a hillside.

My second piece of advice with regards to booking concerns the hotel's use of third-party websites like Booking.com. In my case I naturally visited the Kames' website to book my stay only to be told by their online booking system that no rooms were available. By chance I searched the wider web and came across booking.com that was offering rooms. My advice to the hotel is to point users at booking.com if your own system reports no rooms available. I suspect you may be costing yourself business with the current approach.

The food on offer at the Kames is excellent, as it always has been on all previous visits. It's relatively basic fare, e.g. burgers, fish and chips, steak pie etc, however it's very well cooked and extremely tasty. There's a specials board too that offers extra choice. In my view the food is pitched perfectly against the setting and exactly what the majority would expect.

The breakfast menu is equally tasty. You can choose from the basics like cereal and toast up to fresh kipper, scrambled eggs or full-cooked breakfast. No complaints here either, it's all cooked really well and tastes great. As an extra plus the staff are happy to bend the menu to suit the guest.

With staff in mind it must be pointed out that they're all lovely. There's a feel to the place as though you've been invited into their home, as though it's not really their job and as such they're happy to chat as well as serve. This is great. The service is good and friendly. My only suggestion would be a bell or something similar to get the attention of staff at the bar through in the lounge. The main bar is usually very busy and so you're often left standing for a several minutes before someone walks past and notices there's someone waiting to order food at the smaller bar in the lounge area. It's not a problem nor a criticism, but it would be better for everyone if there was a means of signalling your presence.

The room I stayed in was perfectly adequate, however the rooms ought to be the next area of the hotel to receive attention. We're still in the off-season, so maybe there are plans afoot for the rooms but mine had loose tiles at the entrance to the bathroom (watch those bare feet!) and water staining on the ceiling of the bedroom. The ceiling may well be the result of recent storm damage to the roof, I'm not suggesting by any means that it's how the rooms are normally presented, however it was there and so I'm mentioning it here. Besides that, the beds were comfy, the room was serviced each day and the heating was on all the time. I think I saw a previous review stating the rooms were cold - no such complaints from me, the heating had been on for some time before my arrival so my room was lovely and warm.

In summary, my stay was fantastic and I've no hesitation whatsoever in returning or recommending it to others. I speak from experience when I say this area in summer is one of the most beautiful places on earth, so give it a try.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need a front-facing room. Rooms at the back face the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.5 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Property: The Kames Hotel
Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing