We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more shabby than shiek” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“more shabby than shiek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked a one night stay in a superior sea view room. Views were fantastic but room was not what I call superior. Felt like we were in the attic, room 9 up on the second floor. Room just looked old and although floor space was OK because of the eves you had to stoop.

Oh and the advertised wifi in every room works as long as you are in the bar. When I asked they said they have tried everything thing and can't get it to work.

On a positive the pub food was really good.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theoc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley T, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we are so sorry you feel that way. Most people adore Room 9 because of it's size, quirky charm and awesome views. We do realise though that the rooms on the top floor under the eaves are not everyone's cup of tea and try to be very honest & transparent on our website regarding each room so that guests are fully informed before booking. Profuse apologies regarding the wi-fi. Yes we have issues generally in this area with broadband, which is mostly slow with a tendency to drop out completely. In addition we are an old building with thick walls and all the associated problems. We have tried cost effective ways of getting connectivity in the rooms on the top floor and admit it hasn't worked out too well so far. Until we are able to resolve this issue I will make sure any reference to wi-fi on our website merely states it is available in all public areas. So glad you liked the area & our food and hope you'll make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    76
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
135
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had arrived on the boat half an hour after lunch service had finished when 9 of us came to the hotel, the lady said she would call the chef and see if he would come back in kindly enough he did. We had a fabulous lunch and staff where more than excellent! We would be more than happily go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley T, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Our business is quite unpredictable so we do try to be flexible and accommodating when required. Glad you liked it & hope you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Always enjoy when in this area having a pint and something to eat. On a nice day , the outdoor seating and views are terrific. Good quality pub grub, friendly staff and good beer!!. If sailing around the Kyles this Hotel provides moorings and it is always a great place to stop for the night to enjoy this lovely friendly pub.

Room Tip: You won't be dissappointed. Friendly pub with good food and ale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley T, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is always nice to have our efforts appreciated & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Kames for 2 weeks while working at the Marina How lucky was i My little room was Brill The food was spot on While my welcome was relaxed and warm Like it should be by Pat Shelley and their team Thks again Pat Al be back But not with the crooks of Owens Formwork But to take more time out and enjoy the Breathtaking scenery Yous lucky guys have on your doorstep :):):)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley T, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much. It was great to meet you too & we all hope to see you back here soon but in holiday mode this time!! Just give Pat or Shelley a call to get it sorted.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We chose a larger room facing the loch and am I glad we did. The view from the room was superb and you just wanted to sit there and look. We were the only ones booked in the night we stayed, yet the service was excellent and the lady who helped us with breakfast was lovely and did everything possible to make sure we had all we needed. I would have rated this hotel as excellent but for a number of small details, for examples there were stains on the carpet in our room and as you entered the hotel there was a strange smell from the coir matting. With a bit more attention to detail, this hotel could be one of the better boutique hotels in the world as it's location is superb.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went for a weekend stay and had a really good experience at this hotel.
The room was spotlessly clean with interesting and very appropriate furniture.
The views from all the windows were stunning!!!
The staff were all friendly.
All the food was fresh, well cooked and nicely presented with very reasonable, affordable prices.
We especially liked the interesting and varied choices from the specials list, for example the black pudding and scallops.
There are three different areas in which to enjoy this food.
There is a popular, lively bar area with a great general atmosphere.
A comfortable restaurant area with a quieter, relaxed feel.
And a room between which provides a good half way mix between the bar and restaurant.
The full cooked breakfast was also cooked to the same high standard.
Having not visited this area of the country before we chose this hotel due to the good feedback within other reviews.
Having had the same good experience I totally agree with these other reviews.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the stunning views. The bar, restaurant and outside tables all look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My partner and I wanted a quiet relaxing break in a nice hotel in beautiful surroundings we were not disappointed
Checking into our room was quick and efficient and we were fully informed of times for breakfast/dinner. We had booked one of the small attic rooms. Room number 8. I just loved this room with its quirky sloping ceiling which at 5ft2 suited me to a tee, my partner at over 5ft8 also had sufficient room to move around. The room was spotless and the bathroom was extremely generous considering we where in the attic :) The views from the room were just amazing and I found myself time and again just going to the window to soak in the breathtaking views. We ate both nights at the hotel and the food was amazing I totally recommend the beer battered fish and chips but the sweet potato curry was to die for.

I cannot praise the atmosphere,staff, stunning views. The kames hotel has the total package.

My partner and I had the best time ever.

Room Tip: I read on previous reviews that travellers should choose one of the bigger rooms to gain full experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.5 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Property: The Kames Hotel
Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing