We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful relaxing time”
other travellers have booked this property
Springbank cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Springbank cottage
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Springbank cottage
Living room
Living room
Real wood /coal fire
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Family bathroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Single bedroom 1
With optional pull out bed
Single bedroom 2
Garden gate showing path and steps
Garden path showing steps
Garden with sea  views
Garden with sea views
View of cottage from track showing height
View. from front door
View from bedroom window
View from bay below the cottage
View from Ardbeg point
(five minute walk)
Rothesay Town from the ferry port
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cecil H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
856 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing time”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We came back again in August 2017 after a visit the summer before. The cottage is absolutely delightful. Very spacious yet cosy. It is quite an easy journey to get over there on the ferry from the mainland and then a short drive of less than a mile to the cottage.

For me it was the exhilarating views from the property that called me back. The island is small enough to make driving around very easy. Nothing is too far away and there is enough to keep you occupied, whether it be seeking out the secluded beaches, visiting places of interest, or just relaxing at the cottage, taking in the fantastic views.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsBear15...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Springbank Cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in May 2017

A very peaceful location for a comfortable, well-appointed cottage. Spacious yet cosy.
Enjoyable garden.
Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben r
1 review
“A brilliant cottage!”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a lovely stay at Springbank Cottage over the New Year. Despite a lot of bad weather we were able to enjoy lots of what the island has to offer. We were very lucky in seeing Otters and Porpoises on one long coastal walk.

The cottage is homely, peaceful and very well equipped. We stayed as part of a larger group and had no grumbles over the very comfortable beds in the twin room. The lounge is beautiful, cosy and warm with a roaring fire, spacious and offering terrific views of Rothesay Bay.

We will definitely come back to this beautiful island and thank our host for a terrific, if slightly wet, stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LouiseInF...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat!”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Springbank Cottage was perfect - well-equipped, spacious and peaceful. The garden is really pretty and the views second to none. Jane the owner was great with communication around our booking.

Bute is a great holiday spot: clean sandy beaches, good cafes (check out veggie eatery Musiker), historic castle, nice swimming pool, picturesque walks and gardens ... the list goes on.

It was our kids' first holiday here and they absolutely loved it! Would definitely recommend the island and Springbank Cottage - sure we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ironlady2
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday helped by staying at this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay on the island in this beautiful cottage. Jane has provided everything you could possibly need for a comfortable visit.
The cottage is immaculate and very welcoming. The views over Rothesay bay are beautiful, especially as dusk descends. The garden is lovely and so relaxing to sit in whilst taking in the views.
We did find the climb up to the cottage a little strenuous but that shouldn't be a problem for those of you who are younger and fitter, but to be honest its well worth the climb for this gem at the top.
Now we've found springbank cottage we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bute”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! Very peaceful cottage overlooking the bay. We were able to watch the boats come and go over a breakfast on the sunny terrace.
We were able to walk from the door, and also use the car, bus or taxi to explore the the outlying picturesque beaches. The Scalpsie seals were a particular delight and were a highlight of the holiday.
The cottage was well equipped, warm and comfortable. The wi-fi was good.
The owner Jane was a wealth of knowledge and had a very comprehensive library of local information.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing