We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Scalpsie Farm Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
View to the Isle of Arran from Scalpsie Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the Isle of Arran from Scalpsie Bay
Living room / Dining Area View in front of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
View to the Isle of Arran from Scalpsie Bay
Living room / Dining Area
View in front of the House
The Farmhouse seen from Scalpsie Bay
Sunset
Taffic Jam in front of the House
Meet the Ducks and Hens
This is Henrietta
Kitchen
King size Bed
Upstairs Shower/Bath
View from the Bedroom Windows
Cosy electric Fire in the King size Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona F
1 review
“Scalpsie Farm Cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely break in a beautiful house in a perfect location for us as a family. Lisa and Ian were welcoming and lovely people, they were friendly but not intrusive. It was so nice to have a break from town life, routine, people and noise. Just peace, views, walks, food, puppies, sheep and seals too! Felt very priveleged to be there as not many places left thay are so naturally beautiful. Would highly recommend Scalpsie Farm and would love to go back again. I almost don't want to leave this review as I really want to keep it a secret from everyone else! Thank you Lisa and Ian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantcee1...
2 reviews
“Bliss”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Amazing accommodation, fantastic views and lovely people. We stayed for 5 nights in this gorgeous place. The farmhouse was superb. The beds were dreamy and bedrooms really nicely presented. There was a plentiful supply of hot water in the main bathroom. The kids loved their own personal shower downstairs. The views over the fields, beach and water are breathtaking. Lisa was a fantastic host who made sure our stay was perfect and we had everything we needed. Ian took time out of his day for a quick chat whenever he could. A really, nice friendly place.
The only downside... We had to leave...
We'll definitely be back, loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent getaway I want to live there!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Amazing location with sensational views, I could have sat in bed just looking at the view all day.. Lisa and Ian are so lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them. The house was really comfortable and it is clear that a lot of time and effort was put into it. It was also nice to be on a working farm with the dogs, chickens, ducklings and sheep. We had two 16 year olds with us !! but hope to go back with our younger grandchildren as we know they would have loved it. I also need some pictures of the seals as the one evening I saw them sitting on the rocks I'd forgotten my phone and no one believed me.!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvaUedorf
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Idyllic place”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent a perfect weekend at Scalpsie in an idyllic setting. The views across to Arran were amazing with snow still on the mountains and the sea sparkling in perfect weather. The house was perfect too and our hosts so friendly and welcoming, bringing us eggs from their own ducks and hens when they welcomed us.
Our grand-daughter loved feeding the hens, meeting a friendly puppy and seeing the seal colony down on the beach. She was also thrilled at looking for driftwood for the logburner.
A wonderful escape to a different world so accessible quickly from Glasgow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs J H
1 review
“An excellent property in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The property was immaculately clean and we were made very welcome by the friendly hosts. The beach was only a short walk away as was an excellent bird hide.
Mount Stuart is a "must" as is St Blane's church.
The enclosed garden was ideal for our dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda b
1 review
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Thanks to Lisa and Ian for a wonderful few days just wish it was a few more, one of the most genuine couples I've met and thanks to them and the tour of the farm especially the dogs it made it even more enjoyable,came home relaxed and already wanting to go back. As for the house itself I could not fault it in any way cosy, warm and comfortable.my 11 year old kara and glen the dog had an absolute ball. Thanks again for some lovely memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful time had”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Scalpsie farm was just lovely. Myself Clare and our daughter Elsy were joined by my brother and his wife.
Very clean and modern interiors with extra comfy beds and pillows that we all collapsed into at the end of the day part beautiful fresh air and part generous amounts of red ................
Ian and Lisa were charming and always on hand if needs be the working farm was enjoyable for Elsy and my cousins 4 year old who visited as they already live on the island.
Scalpsie bay being a short 500 yard stroll down the foot path through the farm land. Breathtaking views of Arron.
I would highly recommend and cannot wait to go back again.

Andrew

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing