We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace perfect peace”
other travellers have booked this property
A wee glass of bubbly sit back and enjoy the view from Ettrick Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A wee glass of bubbly sit back and enjoy the view from Ettrick Cottage
Luxurious oak and leather furniture. Well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
A wee glass of bubbly sit back and enjoy the view from Ettrick Cottage
Luxurious oak and leather furniture.
Well equipped kitchen
Beautiful king sized bedroom
Well equipped shower room
Eating out
Enjoy 32 inch TV, DVD, Bluetooth speaker, Free WiFi
Well equipped kitchen with leather chairs and oak dining table
Room with a stunning view
Bedroom with a view over sandy Ettrick Bay
Approach road to Ettrick Cottage
Stunning views across the sea to Arran and Mull of Kintyre
Entrance to Ettrick Cottage
Ettrick Cottage from Ettrick Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
william m
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Peace perfect peace”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in the cottage for five nights and the chill factor was awesome. You can hear the silence, enjoy spectacular views of Arran, walk for miles along Ettrick bay sands, watch the gannets dive for fish, the seals playing on the rocks, the pheasants, the rabbits, the oyster catchers, the cormorants and a fantastic array of wildlife. The accommodation is plush, fully equipped with wi fi and sky tv, french doors to the large garden and two leather reclining chairs. This is a must for couples wanting to get away from it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you for the kind words William. We are so pleased both of you enjoyed your stay at Ettrick Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again in future. George Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NedS87
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem for Two.”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The long weekend at Ettrick cottage was booked as a treat for my wife's birthday, and the cottage was indeed a treat in itself. Modern, cosy, and very complete, immaculately clean and beautifully presented.

When the description says "self Catering" I usually take this to mean that you could with a bit of ingenuity rustle up a lunch, but in the case of this cottage meant that everything was to hand in a kitchen that wouldn't disgrace most homes.

The finish, the fittings and the amenities provided were first class and made for an extremely enjoyable peaceful stay
.
The location overlooking Ettrick Bay was, even in the mixed weather we had, idyllic, with fantastic views of the changing moods of the water and sky, over across to Arran.
French doors open, or out on the patio, the sound of birdsong in the garden and the waves on the shore were the predominant sounds of our weekend.
All this and only a 15min drive from Rothsey and not much further to the any of the sights on this beautiful little island.
We Will Be Back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
thank you for your kind words. we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at Etrick Cottage - thanks George and Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariemcqu...
1 review
“BUTE-IFUL COTTAGE”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful stay and introduction to Bute from this cosy, clean, cared-for, cottage. The hosts went out of their way to welcome and inform us about the island and it was the idyllic location from which to explore, socialise or sit back and lap up the sounds of the sea, birds and sun views. Even the patter of rain sounded good from ettrick cottage. Thank you to the great hosts! We highly recommend you come, see and explore for your good selves.....CYCLE AND WALK THE West Island WAY...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you Marie for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ettrick Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you both back in future. George Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdwraines
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage in fantastic location”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fantastic stay in Ettrick Cottage. A super well equipped home from home.Really good cycling, the Serpentine is most memorable for cyclists. The ferries are really easy to use.
Mount Stuart House is well worth a visit (go when they have a guided tour). The house is one of the most amazing I have visited.
Our Thanks to the very helpful owners
Guy&Olly Malton Yorkshire

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you Guy for the kind words. We are delighted you had such a good holiday at Ettrick Cottage and look forward to welcoming the two of you back at some time in the future. George, Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taramur
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Stunning Ettrick cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed a magic 4 days in this idyllic location. The views are spectacular especially on the lovely sunny days we had. Bute is a beautiful island and very accessible from the mainland. We walked, fished and golfed - a perfect break.
Downstairs the cottage is very well and cleverly appointed but the bedroom upstairs does not have a full sized roof so some bending is required. Despite this we would recommend this lovely cottage and it's helpful owners highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ettrick Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit to our lovely island. George, Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is exactly like the photos portray. Short distance from Ettrick Bay in a peaceful location. We even watched roe deer in the field beside the cottage. Would thoroughly recommend this cottage on this beautiful island.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thank you Ann for your kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ettrick Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back. George Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Enjoyed a relaxing two days in this beautiful cottage. It's exactly as it looks in the advert beautifully decorated to a very high standard. The owner George was most helpful .we also had good weather .will most definitely return .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you Kate I am glad you enjoyed your break. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ettrick Cottage in the future. Kind regards George Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing