We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream place to stay”
Review of Ivybank Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivybank Villa
Ranked #6 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream place to stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I came here for a 3 night stay and had an excellent time. It is obvious how this place is a four star guest house and has five stars from trip advisor. Our hosts were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The breakfast was simply delicious. On the last day we were leaving early,before breakfast time & Tina surprised us by giving a pack lunch for our journey back (totally unexpected). Our room was nothing short of perfect and the house, as a whole, is impressive on a grand style. We strolled into the main town &/or seafront in literally about 2-3 mins from the front door, despite the house being situated in a very private place. To sum up a very luxurious and pleasant stay with great hosts. Thanks Tom & Tina...I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The four poster room - Marvellous spacious room, breath taking view & fab en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Ok i feel its only fair to start at the beginning. We were greeted at the front desk by the owner, Tom. He was friendly enough as he hurried us to our room. Room was nice enough, a tad pokey and could probably do with a spring clean, i'm not entirely sure where the £300,000 went in refurbishing. We had been travelling all day and it was late enough so we just had a quick stroll around the picturesque town and then retired for the night. The next morning is when it got interesting! We went down for breakfast. Tom then proceeded to have a very loud and quite colourful argument with a guest in the near full conservatory. It appeared there had been a mix up on the guests room so Tom decided to hurl abuse at them and accuse them of trying 'to pull a fast one'. Whether or not the guest had, i don't know, but it really did create a bad atmosphere that Tom would attack a guest in the dining area in front of other guests. If he feels this is ok to do then perhaps the hospitality industry is not for him. We quickly finished our breakfast and left, never to come back.

I entered the above review on Tripadvisor on the 23rd of September. On the 25th after it was published i received and extremely insolent and threatening email from the owner. He accused me of lying about his place and continued to insult me and my partner.

I don't feel that this guy should get away with treating his guests like this. I for one like to go to Hotels and B&B's to relax and not be abused. I enjoy being hosted by hospitality professionals and not an abusive version of Basil Fawlty who continues to abuse after we've left. I recommend people to steer clear of this 'establishment'.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingScotland, Guest Relations Manager at Ivybank Villa, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Please look carefully at this review and the little cluster of malicious reviews around the same time! They are all friends and have conspired to damage our business by way of these malicious, defamatory reviews. Please read all our other overwhelmingly positive reviews and ask yourself just what is going on here? This particular review is by a person who clearly has some sort of 'psychiatric' problem, for which he should seek professional help. Our reviews span 5 years and have been 100% positive? Please read our latest review and try and reconcile it with what is said here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just enjoyed an overnight stay in Bute to see Mount Stuart House. Our stay at Ivybank Villa was very pleasant and we received a warm welcome. The house's position makes for quick access to the town centre but its elevated position affords a nice view and distances you from the hustle and bustle of the sea-front. The house was very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep in our spacious bedroom with en-suite facilities. Lovely breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenc0egirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have just enjoyed a stay in this beautiful B&B and enjoyed every moment. We had a warm welcome after a long journey, after which we were shown to our lovely four poster suite. The room was well equipped, very clean and had superb views over the town. The breakfast was fantastic and comes highly recommended and we cannot say a bad word about the hosts Tina and Tom. We were surprised to see the previous reviews and whilst the decor won't be to everyone's taste, who cares, it would be impossible to suite everyone. Clean, comfortable and good food, we will return.

Room Tip: For amazing views choose a room located at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Spent a week travelling around Scotland and one of our nights we spent in this B&B. Checked in no problems, had a lovely dinner on the waterfront and then an after dinner drink in the local Argyll Arms(hope I'm spelling that right!). Slept very well. All of the goodness was taken out of it due to a commotion over breakfast. The manager had an argument with a young couple over what I'm not quite certain but to say it was unprofessional is an understatement. I have never seen anything like it. Even when he dragged the gentlemen into the kitchen we could still hear it. Perhaps he needs a customer service refresher course. Nice place tho.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Ciarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting for a wedding recently. Impressed by the reviews beforehand, but neither by the attitude nor hospitality of the owners. Definitely a first time for us
1. To be verbally abused in front of other guests
2. To be harangued and blamed for a failure in the owners' booking system.
3. To be charged to stay in our friends annexe room following a double booking, even though our friends had already paid for it.
4. To be told 'to quit whining and to stop being so sensitive'.
5. To be threatened with legal action ("I'll sue the [--] off you") as we left if we considered posting a negative online review!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Collymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio58
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Spectacular views from front (but not garden) rooms. The reviews for this guesthouse are very good so we were surprised that nobody had mentioned that the interior is quite cluttered, old & need of modernisation. The large amounts of religious/spiritual memorabilia were not to our taste. We would have preferred newer looking & less worn bedding. Bathrooms are in good repair.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ohio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingScotland, Guest Relations Manager at Ivybank Villa, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Well,we are not surprised by this Woman's 'vitriolic' review. She was nothing but trouble even before she arrived, a thoroughly unpleasant and wholly unreasonable person. We have expended £300,000 upgrading our premises over the past 4 years. The lady should have appreciated that it is a period building with all modern amenities to the highest of standards, and does not need 'modernising! As for religious memorabilia! There are three items in the 13 bedrooms and twelve bathrooms!This lady should not be surprised at our excellent reviews as they are honest and truthful, unlike her dishonest review. We are sure our present and future guests will see through this malicious and libellous review. As for the views: we have one Garden room which is the only room that does not have sea views. This lady picked this room as it is the cheapest.
T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
18.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#12 of 18 in Rothesay
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Commodore Guest House
Commodore Guest House
#7 of 18 in Rothesay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivybank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivybank Villa

Property: Ivybank Villa
Address: Westland Road, Rothesay PA20 0HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivybank Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Villa (listed) Beautifully restored to its former grandeur, with numerous period features both internally and externally. Set within secluded landscaped grounds of two acres. Totally central yet extremely private. Wildlife friendly gardens with Deer,owls,bats,woodpeckers,hedgehogs and fish.built by Lord ButeArgyll, and first recorded occupancy in 1795. Panoramic sea and mountain views from all rooms but one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Ivybank Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivybank Villa Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing