We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Guest House
Ranked #6 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed over with my fiancé and my kids age 6 & 2 for 2 nights 22/11/2013 after attending a friends wedding and I would recommend it to everyone.
Very friendly family,they always make sure nothing is missing. Great breakfast amazing location what else can say? We had a fab time on a great location and were treated like we were in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank United1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have such a nice family staying with us in our home and your children are a pure credit to you, so well behaved and well mannered, we look forward to seeing you again in the future, maybe for another wedding ???? Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    22
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
56
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife had put a review on but the owner phoned her home and her mobile so she felt obliged to remove the review.
My wife and I went to stay at the Commodore for 2 nights with my Father in law whe is 83, my Sis in law and my 8 months pregnant daughter and her 20 month son.
My wife and I were charged £140 for 2 nights. The other 3 adults were £100 each. The guest house was extremely cold, we had to ask several times for heating to be put on, it was still cold and you could keep your hands on the radiator. apart from being cold the rooms were comfortable enough but small. The views were lovely from the rooms too.
Considering the owners were away we had been advised it would be a continental breakfast, although we knew this it irked because we were in need of a hot breakfast to put some heat in us.
I think the price was excessive considering it was November. I also believe the rooms should have been warm at all times. My Father in law and grandson were miserable with the cold.
I certainly would not reccomend the Commodore.
My wife was asked when booking if we were ok with stairs, she said yes but when we got there we discovered we were on the 3rd floor, my 8 month pregant daughter found this hard going as did we. No lift. Father in law was on ground floor in the coldest room of all. In total we were £440. Not worth that at all. Will not be back

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 54frankandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review, to which I would like reply, when the lady phoned to book she insisted on Sea-View rooms, it was explained that these rooms are usually cooler than the rear rooms due to our sea-front location, but the front facing rooms it had to be, all of the rooms except for 1 had to be for single occupancy and 1 would have to be a ground floor room, we were told it was a 12 month old baby not a 20 month old toddler, we were not advised that the other lady was heavily pregnant, we did know the elderly gentleman was 83 thus the reason he was given the ground floor family room at a heavily discounted rate, infact all the rooms were discounted, the prices were agreed, the price for the double room you were in is usually £90.00 per night, we discounted it to £70.00 per night, the other 2 single occupancy's in £80.00 per night Twin rooms were discounted down to £50.00 per night (with no charge for the cot or the child), the ground floor family room was heavily discounted from £120.00 per night to £50.00 per night, we did advise you that we would be away and that our son would provide you with a cold breakfast, (this was explained before the lady actually placed the booking), the heating in the Guest House comes on, as timed, but all rooms have thermostatically controlled radiators, which is up to the Guest's themselves to control how hot or cold they wish the heating in their rooms, the radiator in the ground floor room had actually been turned off at the valve ?, why ?, if it was so cold do that ?, we keep all the thermostats at a set temp, it was obvious for the couple in the double room that they must have been to warm as they went out and left the windows open !!!! yes the heating was requested to be boosted and this was done, now to the stairs we don't have 3 floors, there is the ground floor, 1st floor then the second floor and most private houses/Guest Houses don't have lifts in them, we are just a family run Guest House not a multi-organisation run Hotel, and as usual when you give people a good deal these are the ones that find fault, our son did all he could to keep these guests happy. We have had all of the radiators checked and the boiler has just had its annual service and everything is running as it should be, so we just can't understand your review, and hopefully other people reading this will see the bigger picture and look at all of our good reviews. We even posted back the childs bottle warmer without charge and no word of thanks, I dont know what more we could have done, as all we did was to fufill the booking that was made, ie.. front facing sea-view rooms with a cold breakfast ie... juice, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffee, toast etc..... All at a greatly reduced rate.

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The rooms were very clean,toilets spotless,breakfast was superb and nothing was to much trouble for Harry and Hazel who helped make our annual fishing trip all the more enjoyable.
Hope to see you again next year.
jake&the rest of the boys

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you Jake for your lovely review, you know how much we look forward to haing you guys stay with us, and it won't be long till next year, mind and tell the absent one that we were asking for him and hope he is well.

Seee you all in 2014. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Bedroom was really nice and cozy it looked out onto the front seated garden area which was nice, bed was soft, very clean linen, bathroom bit small as partner is big but other wise was ok, owners were really friendly very helpful, we stayed 2 nights partner went to play golf and I stayed behind owners were very chatty and welcoming always pottering about the house, I sat out the back with hens, nice garden chalets are also sited there, breakfast was fast and tasty, lots to chose from, very fresh eggs :-) would stay again good value for money

Room Tip: Try getting the first room on the right as you go in, the other ground floor room doesn't look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice when genuine guests that have actually stayed with us give us their reviews of our home, it was lovely to meet you both and hopefully we will see you again soon. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is really a rather drab and unwelcoming sort of a guest house. Breakfast was poor and rooms somewhat uncomfortable. The only really plus point is its location on the seafront. I don't believe that it was good value for the money and I certainly won't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bobcat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 12 February 2015
This person has never ever stayed with us, considering we were closed and on holiday when he was supposedly alleged to have stayed, anyone reading the review will know it's not genuine as all our rooms are bright and modern, we have proved to Tripadvisor we were closed but they choose not to remove the review, and we can't understand why, but hey that's life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very clean & in a wonderful position,very close to the Ferry.
Hazel & Harry went out of their way to make sure our 2 day stay was great, Breakfast was delicious & a large choice to pick from.
Thank you Hazel & Harry.

Aussies ...Carol & Kriss Graham

Room Tip: Our choice was down stairs as I have a bad back & knee, & that way there was no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to have such nice guests staying with us and thank you for appreciating our efforts to make our Guests stay as pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hazel Harry and Matthew were welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable with good facilities. However they are not spacious, and the climb up the stairs is not for the elderly or physically disabled. We were glad of Matthew's brawn to take our suitcases from car to rooms and back down again at the end of our stay. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the helpful advice about local sightseeing and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoteNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we did ask upon arrival if the stairs were a problem and we were advised they were fine, we would have given you a bigger room had you requested it, but that was the room that was booked for you by a third party, but anyhow thank you for your review and we were glad you enjoyed the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#11 of 18 in Rothesay
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Guest House

Property: Commodore Guest House
Address: 12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Guest House is Visit Scotland 3 Star Graded and is situated on the Rothesay Sea-Front with panoramic views over Rothesay Bay, Just 3 - 4 minutes walk from Rothesay's Main Pier and Town Centre, we are ideally situated for that midweek break, long weekend or a longer stay. All out rooms are tastefully furnished to a high standard complete with Double Glazing, colour DVD/Televisions and free internet access. Each bedroom has a full en-suite with shower facility. We provide complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits which is replenished daily, also provided in each room is a hair-dryer. Try our Famous Hearty Scottish Breakfast, with Free Range Eggs from our own Commodore Hens. We are totally Non Smoking throughout The Commodore and The Commodore Self-Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Commodore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing