We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Guest House
Ranked #6 of 17 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much to Harry and Hazel! We had a great time, rooms were lovely and clean with a sea view, delicious breakfast including eggs fresh from their chickens, and a super quick walk into town. The best customer service we've had, they really go the extra mile to help you out. Thanks again for a great stay and all your help with recommendations for restaurants and your help with the hire car problems. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia Madelein... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your super review, hope you got on ok returning the car and that you are safely back in New Zealand, we would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Bute. Regards Harry, Hazel & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Run by very friendly couple who treat everyone as friends who came to visit them. Id highly recommend this to anyone who asked me where to stay when visiting Rothesay. Really comfortable rooms & a very high standard in cleanliness & the breakfast was a treat :-) the price is a surprise too as it is so affordable & reasonable for even the peak season

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ronamccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your super review Rona and Thank you and your guys for choosing to stay with us, it is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Hazel & Harry. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I said "I'm early, do you mind if I leave my bag" ... Sit yourself down there, would you like a coffee..? This is home from home...I have never been made so welcome anywhere. A short walk from the ferry. A beautifully situated guest house overlooking the bay it is an ideal location when visiting the island. My room was very clean & with good facilities & a good digestive biscuit with my coffee. I can recommend the breakfast & should you want or need anything both Harry & Hazel have have all the answers..! You'll love it..!! (Best bit, I didn't have to pay)

Room Tip: Room facing the bay...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi David, Thank you for your super review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope your interview is successful and brings you back to see us again, Regards

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

*****
top class service with a smile, lovely of harry and hazel, food was superb! and it was immaculate! thank you very much guys! all the guys from Briggs Marine enjoyed a stay, thanks again! very very good

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

WOW, Thank you for the terrific review, we were only doing our job, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to meeting you all again in the near future. Hazel, Harry & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived in Rothesay to meet up with Canadian relatives during the Jazz Festival but found our previously booked accommodation unsuitable. Harry rescued us by phoning his wife, Hazel who fortunately could take us in the Commodore. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms modern and spotless, even providing a small sewing kit and emery board, something not normally provided in guest houses but which shows great attention to detail. We enjoyed our breakfast, cheerfully served by Harry - a good start to our stay. A very helpful and well organised couple.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your super review, we were only to Happy to help you, and thank you for appreciating the wee touches in the en-suites, we do try our best and it is great when Guests take the time to appreciate it, hoping you found somewhere to stay on the Saturday night. Thank you all, Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here during the Jazz Festival on the Isle of Bute, and from the existing reviews on here, I was hoping it would be good. I was not disappointed - the room was clean, warm and comfortable (great beds!) with a lovely sea view. Our welcome was warm, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Hazel and Harry. The food was delicious, and the coffee refills just kept on coming. The Commodore is ideally situated for a stay in Rothesay, minutes from the ferry port, castle, and lots of good eateries. Highly recommended, we will return!

Room Tip: Sea view is lovely, but we wouldn't have been disappointed to overlook all the greenery at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerja2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your very kind review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and to appreciate all that we do to try and make our Guests feel as relaxed and comfortable as possible, we are already looking forward to meeting you again. Thank you Hazel. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose the Commodore as we liked the look of the views on Google and we were not disappointed on arrival about a 3 minute walk from the ferry terminal.
On arrival we were greeted by Hazel with a lovely warm welcome and taken to our room which was very clean and the on-suite was spotless, looking out the window to there very own chickens and hilly views was beautiful.
Breakfast was fab and Harry could not have been more helpful and warm and welcoming which made our stay more special.
On the Saturday my husband and I asked Hazel if she could make us a Sunday dinner which was no trouble and what a Sunday dinner it was lovely soup and the most beautiful lamb shank, potatoes, veg and mint gravy made us feel really special.
Would really recommend the commodore as they are so friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble and the next time we come back will bring the kids and the dog as pets are welcome.
Thank You for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you both for the super review, it is always a pleasure to have Guests staying that appreciate our efforts to make them as comfortable and relaxed as we can, Thank you for the beautiful flowers and card you brought tears to my eyes, I was only doing my job and I really appreciated the gift it was so thoughtful of you, we are 100% looking forward to having you stay with us again and to meeting your children and dog. Thank you Hazel, Harry & Matthew. xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
0 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
114 reviews
0 mi away
Boat House Super Suites
Boat House Super Suites
#1 of 17 in Rothesay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#2 of 17 in Rothesay
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#3 of 17 in Rothesay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Guest House

Address: 12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Guest House is Visit Scotland 3 Star Graded and is situated on the Rothesay Sea-Front with panoramic views over Rothesay Bay, Just 3 - 4 minutes walk from Rothesay's Main Pier and Town Centre, we are ideally situated for that midweek break, long weekend or a longer stay. All out rooms are tastefully furnished to a high standard complete with Double Glazing, colour DVD/Televisions and free internet access. Each bedroom has a full en-suite with shower facility. We provide complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits which is replenished daily, also provided in each room is a hair-dryer. Try our Famous Hearty Scottish Breakfast, with Free Range Eggs from our own Commodore Hens. We are totally Non Smoking throughout The Commodore and The Commodore Self-Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Commodore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing