We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Guest House
Ranked #7 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A warm feel that was offered without without a blink of an eye. Everything from the meals to washing cloths was done in the helpful spirt that lives of Bute. For a true 'Bute' experience stay at The Commodore. I was there for work but if I went back for a holiday I would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it was great to have all of the film crew stay with us here at the Commodore, we didn't mind doing your washing considering how far from home (Australia), you all were, we are really looking forward to seeing Luke's cookery programme on tv and thank you for the drone pictures of the Commodore, it was a brilliant night with Luke cooking in my kitchen on the Friday night, I can proudly say I have had a Masterchef cook in the Commodore kitchen. x Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great stay at the commodore with hazel and Harry,what super hosts.they were very helpful in helping us locate relatives as well as a tour and knowledge of the island.This is a highly recommended place to stay.great meals,comfortable beds and very nicely located.

Room Tip: We had a ground flour room with a view of the harbour and we're very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it was an utter pleasure having you and your sister's staying with us, what good fun we all had, maybe one day we will all meet up again. Regards

Hazel, Harry & Matthew. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed with Hazel and Harry when we were on business on Isle of Bute. They were not only welcoming but provided an extraordinary amount of support and assistance for our stay. They went above and beyond in any ways they could to help us and were always friendly and available to help - First class service. The Commodore has a wonderful spot overlooking the water and breakfast is simply delicious! Would book this accommodation again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Maddison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you Maddy for taking time out of your very busy schedule to write your review, it was great having you guys stay with us and we hope the rest of your filming in the UK went well, we are looking forward to seeing Luke's cookery programme on the television, Thank you once again. Hazel, Harry & Matthew. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful spot, good rooms and breakfast. Best of all was Harry and Hazel's helpfulness. As well as giving us lots of useful information and good advice on where to eat, Harry spent a LONG time on several phone calls to our rental car company, eventually convincing them that they should let us change our drop off time and place for free. This made a huge difference to our stress levels and enjoyment of our limited time on Bute. I also highly recommend Rothesay and Bute, which is well worth spending a few days in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your super review, Harry was only to happy to assist you with the car rental drop off, and it meant you got slighly longer to enjoy this wonderful island we have here, maybe we will see you on your next visit to Bute.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thank you for the great service we had from Harry at the weekend. A friendly and warm welcome ,lovely clean and comfortable room . Breakfast was delicious and a good selection.Great place to stay and ideal for a short break. Only a short walk from shops and ferry ,i am sure we will be visiting again soon. Only downside we had is that we did not get a seaview but that was due to us booking at last minute.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, I am glad Harry did a good job looking after you, he is very pleased that you appreciated his work. Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister & I have stayed here a number of times & Harry & Hazel make us feel so welcome we will always go back there. The service is first class & the rooms are clean & comfortable with a lovely sea view. The breakfast is delicious with a good selection including fresh eggs from their chickens. The location is just a short walk to the town & the ferry. The cost is so reasonable which is another reason to go back time & time again. I cannot recommend this enough to anyone visiting Rothesay & we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you Cath for your super review, we really enjoy having you and Isabel stay with us, and love your stories, just loved the laundry one, its a pleasure having you here and we are already looking forward to seeing you both next year, thank you once again for the wee pressie it was lovely and the card is in the dining room proudly dispalyed. See you in 2015, love Harry, Hazel & Matthew. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much to Harry and Hazel! We had a great time, rooms were lovely and clean with a sea view, delicious breakfast including eggs fresh from their chickens, and a super quick walk into town. The best customer service we've had, they really go the extra mile to help you out. Thanks again for a great stay and all your help with recommendations for restaurants and your help with the hire car problems. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia Madelein... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your super review, hope you got on ok returning the car and that you are safely back in New Zealand, we would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Bute. Regards Harry, Hazel & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
977 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#9 of 18 in Rothesay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Guest House

Address: 12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range: £60 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Guest House is Visit Scotland 3 Star Graded and is situated on the Rothesay Sea-Front with panoramic views over Rothesay Bay, Just 3 - 4 minutes walk from Rothesay's Main Pier and Town Centre, we are ideally situated for that midweek break, long weekend or a longer stay. All out rooms are tastefully furnished to a high standard complete with Double Glazing, colour DVD/Televisions and free internet access. Each bedroom has a full en-suite with shower facility. We provide complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits which is replenished daily, also provided in each room is a hair-dryer. Try our Famous Hearty Scottish Breakfast, with Free Range Eggs from our own Commodore Hens. We are totally Non Smoking throughout The Commodore and The Commodore Self-Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Commodore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing