We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice place to stay”
other traveller has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Thomas H
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay. The owners were friendly and helpful. The B&B has everything one would expect from the sort of place that it is.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesur...
Bairnsdale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best stays in Scotland”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely warm welcome, outstanding views, comfortable accommodation and a great breakfast. Friendly and informative hosts.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneSaun...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly environment with the most fantastic breakfast.”
Reviewed 26 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Just returned from a four day trip in which the Island had experienced gales therefore, there was no electricity. The Munros could not have been more helpful ensuring the lounge was heated and that we were comfortable. I would definately recommend this B&B and I will go back again.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grayfam
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 24 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Have just returned from 2 nights stay att his lovely B+B. The other reviews say it all - nice views, good breakfasts, large rooms, squeaky clean, tasteful decor, and the most friendly and obliging hosts you could wish for. There was a massive storm yesterday, the ferries were off, and they could not have been more helpful to people trying to get home. Highly recommened, particularly for those taking a car to Bute.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyCatMitc...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this at the very last minute to take advantage of the good weather forecast over the Royal Wedding weekend. They only room available was the smallest one in the B & B but it was still tastefully furnished,clean and comfortable.

The house itself is a detached Victorian villa on a hill overlooking the bay on the outskirts of Port Bannatyne, and probably isn't the easiest option if your on foot and expecting to spend a lot of time in Rothesay. However the bus services on the island are excellent and cheap and the view from the B & B is fantastic - especially in the kind of fine weather we enjoyed.

Breakfast is extensive and includes the usual wide selection of fruit, cereals and cooked options. It is served in the bright and airy conservatory attached to the guest lounge.

Bute itself is a great location if your thinking about a quiet, outdoorsy weekend away in the UK, and the fact it is an island (reached from the mainland by ferry in 40 minutes) gives it a real "away from it all" feel. We did some walking around the Islands long distance footpaths, and spent a lovely afternoon at Mount Stuart - the fantastically elaborate seat of the Earls of Bute. The jazz festival was also taking place so the whole Island had a really friendly vibe .

A special mention for the folk who run the Post Office/General Store/Tea Shop in Port Bannatyne. They've cleverly expanded the cafe element out into the harbour front and given the whole place a great continental feel. In the weekend sunlight I could have convinced myself I was in France and not 1.5 hours from Glasgow!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winniehen...
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a real home from home”
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely place with the most attentive hosts Everything was luxurious from the thick carpets on the floors to our beautiful room complete with 4 poster bed. it was so quiet I thought we were the only guests untl we met others at breakfast. We will certainly be back and soon I hope.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iFeedback
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A splendid place to stay - what a Bute!”
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Very welcoming and friendly owners. The room (Room 6) was very spacious, clean and with a lovely view over the bay. Large and comfortable bed with a very spacious en suite/wet room. Good choice at breakfast and prepared perfectly with bacon just as crispy as requested!

The few things that would have improved our stay are:
- WiFi, especially as there are few cafe's on Bute which provide it.
- Towel Drying Rack. As much as we loved the en suite, there was no where to warm/dry the towels each day.
- The TV could have had a better picture and only had 4 channels.
None of these are a big deal and probably don't matter to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing