We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love the home made bread”
other traveller has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Becsbri
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Love the home made bread”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Great spot with good view and excellent breakfast - loved the home made bread.

Cost slightly more than places I usually stay, but worth it - although minor niggle with bathroom plumbing is not what I would have expected.

Would stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2013
Thanks for the review. We've sorted out the plumbing issues in that room. Thanks for the feedback..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExPatOne
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Combine a commanding view of Rothesay Bay with consistently excellent service, welcoming and knowledgeable hosts, great food, and a posse of friendly black labradors and you have all of necessary ingredients for a great B&B to visit, and to return to.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2013
Good to see you guys once again and thanks for the lovely review. It's nice to know that we are your accommodation of choice on your trips to Scotland from the US.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane V
Edinburgh
1 review
“Munro's B & B”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

A very friendly, relaxing place to stay, with excellent service and attention, Munro's was the perfect place for a short break in autumn. Loved the warm stove in the guest lounge, and the view from the breakfast room.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2013
Thanks for the positive review. It's great to get good feedback from our guests..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolindena...
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous B and B”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We were only on a flying visit to Bute but we are glad we managed to fit in our stay at Munroe's. We had a very pleasant room with a great view of the water. The beautiful weather in November helped but I imagine even when it is wild and wet it is still striking. We had a nice comfy sofa so we were able to enjoy the last episode of Downton Abbey under a knitted blanket with a complimentary hot chocolate. We obviously live life in the fast lane. The bad was large and very comfortable. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and the pot of tea in front of the fire when we arrived was just the ticket. We were given good information about places to eat in the evening and how to spend our day there. We were very grateful for that as our trip hadn't been planned in any detail. Breakfast was excellent and the home made bread was a real treat. The view from the conservatory was wonderful and got us off to a very good start to the day.
My husband is more likely to be picky than me and he did spot a couple of areas in the bathroom which could have benefitted from a bit of tlc. Me? I just noticed it was very clean and wow - there was a whirlpool bath! Oh, how I enjoyed that!
We would definitely book to stay at Munroe's again. We loved our stay there and the Island as a whole is well worth a visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2013
A great review, thank you. We've tackled what we guessed were the issues with that bathroom. Hope to see you guys again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Marks”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Munroe's B&B in Rothesay on the Isle of Bute. Everything was excellent. The Room was great with wonderful views to the Mainland. They made us so welcome going out of their way to help. Breakfast was really good and the homemade bread was wonderful. Well done.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review. Yes, room 6 is one of our most popular rooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Alloa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cathy H”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a lovely 3 night break at Munro's B&B, Joan and Andy are great hosts, lovely house with stunning views, Andy makes a really good breakfast.
Nothing was to much bother for them, i would definitely recommend it. Rothesay is a great
place to visit. We also got good weather which was a bonus.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NursieNan...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Munro's the peak of success”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a lovely return stay at Munro's B & B this month having visited initially in February this year when we liked it so much we knew we would be back. The accommodation and hospitality provided by Joan and Andy would be difficult to surpass. In addition the hearty breakfast selection was fab and really set us up for the day ahead. We enjoyed our time in Rothesay and would recommend visiting Mount Stuart for the day, which is only a short trip in the car from Munro's. We found Joan and Andy to be informative and knowledgeable about the island, places to visit and eat out and this was really helpful in planning our days. We would love to return and stay as we found lots of nice walks around the island which we knew our walking shoes would be a must for, hope to go back again next year ps with walking shoes packed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing