We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nothing negative to say about this great place!”
other traveller has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Me1979
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing negative to say about this great place!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend treated me to suprise weekend away for my birthday and booked two nights at Munros. I was not disappointed and enjoyed an extremely relaxing weekend.

We arrived by bicycle via the ferry and the B&B was within easy reach of the ferry terminal and local shops. The B&B is set in a lovely garden with stunning views over Rothesay Bay.

The owners choice of decor is beautiful and you immediately feel at home. They are extremely friendly and enthusiastic about what the island has to offer.

We had a bit of rain during our stay so rather than cycle into town, we ordered Indian take away and spent a lovely evening sitting in front of the fire in the B&Bs shared comfortable living room. The owners kindly provided us with plates, cutlery, wine glasses and some mango chutney!

Our room was fantastic with a great view out to sea. The bed was very comfortable and the surroundings quiet so we slept well! I felt quite sad to be returning home at the end of our weekend!

Breakfast is delicious and freshly cooked to order.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirleyan...
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Was there at the weekend”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night at Munro's. Lovely room (the junior suite), views fantastic. Hosts very welcoming and helpful (thanks for the wine glasses ). Andy and Joan are a very nice couple and nothing is too much bother for them. Superb breakfast with lovely home made bread and great views. Will be back and hope to take in your bread making class, thanks for a lovely stay despite the weather on Saturday. Town centre is well within walking distance and worth the walk.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_J3030
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great short break”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Agree with everything in the last couple of reviews. Thanks Andy & Joan - we felt relaxed from the minute we arrived and have no hesitation in recommending your B&B. Thanks also for telling us about Caol Ruadh Sculpture Park where we stopped off on our way home - a very pleasant place for a wander, even in the drizzle.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodybark
East Neuk of Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked here for 3 nights to attend a wedding on the island and we weren't disappointed with our choice. Although further out of town than we thought there were frequent buses into town from the bottom of the road or if taking the car, free parking was easy. The house itself has stunning views of the bay and you can sit outside on the decking to enjoy the ever changing scenery as ferries go to and fro. We were in Room 2 which was spacious and comfortable although the wardorbe could have done with having a full length hanging space to accommodate my wedding outfit! The house is charming and quirky and the residents lounge would be a nice place to sit although we didn't need to use it. Breakfasts are tasty with the home made bread being the star of the show although the (very) fresh fruit salad was delish as well. Cooked breakfast is made fresh and was also scrumptious - ordering the night before is a good idea as it means they can be prepared for what you want. Munro's is in a very quiet location which was much appreciated. Thanks to our hosts for a lovely stay.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkayell
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea views, spacious rooms and lovely breakfasts”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Delicious breakfasts (notably home-made bread) in a sunlit conservatory over looking a beautiful garden with a backdrop of sea views across Rothesay Bay to Cowal and the firth to the mainland coast. Comfy sofas in the lounge downstairs with library and local information; Spacious bedroom (room 3, upstairs) with kingsize bed, ensuite shower room, large table and chairs and tea/coffee-making facilities and the same wonderful eastward views. Ample parking space and quiet location added to a relaxing weekend stay.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely review. Hope t see you again in the future.

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimStanle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Munro's was a real gem. Within (very pleasant) walking distance of Rothesay, the B & B is a lovely big house with uninterrupted views overlooking the sea. A real plus point for us was the fact that it is located in a very quiet and peaceful residential area along the coast, offering easy access to the restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops in Rothesay town centre, without the hustle and bustle. Breakfast was delicious and very generous, from the full fry-up to fantastic yogurt, fruit, porridge and fresh bread. Andy and Joan were very hospitable and welcoming. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again at Munro's

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowGi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant, chic, friendly...”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a couple of nights here; Andy and Joan are such a lovely couple, very relaxed and informative. They also have great taste; their home is full of interesting bits and pieces and there is a wood burning stove in the living room which I resolve to return to in the autumn! Room very comfortable with king size bed, nice toiletries etc; breakfasts delicious with homemade fruit salad, porridge or a cooked breakfast if you prefer, as well as lovely homemade bread, good coffee etc.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely comments about our house and the great review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing