We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous stay in a perfect location”
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
polkadotp...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous stay in a perfect location”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our stay at Munro's and would highly recommend it. The house is beautiful and spacious. Our room had a stunning bay window with sea views, an extremely comfy bed and a really smart bathroom. Breakfast is served in a conservatory also overlooking the sea and was really delicious. We took on all of the owners' recommendations and enjoyed Mount Stuart, seal watching and dinner in the local pub a short walk away. It was a very relaxing break and we only wish we had stayed longer.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best view on Bute!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay at Joan and Andy's! It's a gorgeous house and has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing weekend. The bed was fantastically comfy, and Andy does a mean Scottish breakfast. There was a nice pub for dinner a short walk away and their terrace has possibly the best view on the island ! Highly recommended!

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRealJi...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Stunning property with matching views!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed at Munro's B & B on a Sunday night in August 2015 and had a lovely time there. The rooms were spacious and modern. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom was spotless, modern and even had a jacuzzi-style bath with jets. A particular highlight was the view from the room, and the breakfast conservatory, which looked out over the bay. Already planning on returning next year!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomaPHILE...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is first class hospitality. The owners are very friendly and helpful and really work hard to make your stay in Rothesay as enjoyable as possible. Munro's is perched high on an escarpment and the views of the firth are spectacular. Our room was upstairs and overlooked the water. The bed is very comfortable and the rooms are quiet and well furnished. The bathroom is small but the fittings are modern and work well.

My one criticism is that the wifi is not very good on the first floor. Suggestion for improvement would be a wifi signal booster on that floor so that guests can access wifi without going downstairs.

Munro's serves an excellent breakfast with plenty of cooked options but what really sets the breakfast apart is that they make their own bread. I had the cooked breakfast the first day but stopped on the second and third because the bread was so delicious that I wanted to have room to feast on it. The style of bread changed every day we were there.

The conservatory, where breakfast was served, was a great place for lively discussion among the guests. We didn't know any of the other guests before we arrived but it was a very hospitable place to stay and the guests respond to that hospitality.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sands324
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B I would recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay was lovely, with welcoming hosts. We had one of the smaller rooms, which was perfect, spotlessly clean and cosy, with a good en-suite. The breakfast selection was excellent and served in the conservatory with beautiful views, which was the icing on the cake. It would be hard to beat!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajdmouse
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great rooms, great service and great breakfast and outstanding views - all for a very reasonable price.

Despite some iffy weather, we had an excellent time including Oscar dog. Bute is very underrated as a destination - absolutely love it.

For foodies, the island is quite limited in quality eating places but Harry Haws and the Kingarth Hotel are worth a visit, as is the tearoom at Ettrick Bay,

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol b
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time I've stayed and just as lovely as last time”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a return visit for me ( I stayed here with my husband in October and returned recently with three friends) The same warm but professional welcome, really enjoyable and informative bread making course, fantastic views and a lovely breakfast with warm home made bread. This place with its stunning views laid back on the surface but obviously working very hard behind the scenes hosts, log burner and hotel quality beds is a find on beautiful Bute.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;