We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views with wholesome breakfast in the...”
other traveller has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
P D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning views with wholesome breakfast in the Consevatory”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed 2 nights, last weekend in February 17. Bedroom warm as toast and en-suite hot bath and shower room has cosy under floor heating. Stunning view from 1st floor bedroom window. Wholesome delicious cooked breakfast accompanied by freshly baked sourdough bread. Excellent vegetarian options. Served in Ground floor conservatory overlooking Rothesay Bay. Freshly brewed coffee. Guest sitting room has great library and wood burning stove. Oh and they have two beautiful black labs and a cat who like to pop out to say hello. Gentle and friendly. Thanks for your hospitality Joan and Andy.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed 2 nights in early December 2016 when we came up to Bute for a long weekend.
Joan and Andy, who own the place, are really friendly, gave great advice about where to eat and what to see as well as spending a lovely evening chatting with us by the fire!
The room had a great view and a comfy bed and plenty of space to spread out!
Very convenient location, just 25 minutes walk into Rothesay along the coast road.
Breakfast was amazing, including Andy's home made bread which is to die for!

Thanks so much for a brilliant weekend and for making us feel so welcome! We'll definitely be back and will bring our friends and family!!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and perhaps we'll see you again some time.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleod M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“More than just a B&B”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The last time we stayed here it was a small hotel guest house nearly twenty years ago. The building has been well maintained as has the gardens. We were glad to have made a return visit now that we are retired and revisiting old memories. Still has great views and although it has a small number of rooms our room was very comfortable. A quiet restful atmosphere and we enjoyed our stay here. Well worth a visit. It was quiet midweek when we visited and I suspect that it will be busy at peak times so book ahead.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a nice place to stay. We had a wonderful view of the Clyde from our room window. The room itself was very comfortable and clean. Loved the breakfast served, especially the fresh, homemade bread. Joan made us feel right at home whilst Andy, a very warm and jovial chap (great Scotsman yet with posh English accent), was always there to answer any questions we had about the island. Recommended!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkShott...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great room, view, food and host.”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend whilst looking at Wedding venues on Bute. The rooms were great, the view from morning to night was spectacular and the food in the morning was just what we needed before a day of exploring. The hosts were full of local knowledge and made some fantastic recommendations. Parking also available. Thanks for having us.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allybally...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, friendly hosts and great breakfast”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent 2 night at Munro's We were warmly welcomed, Room we had the most amazing views (room2) bed so comfy, nice bathroom. Very comfortable. Breakfast was great, plenty choice and cooked to order. Breakfast was in the conservatory with those great views once again. Joan kindly booked us a table at local resturant Harry Haws, which was nice. We visited Mount Stuart while on Bute, really worth a visit. Overall we had a great time and plan to go back next year.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourLA
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Very Enjoyable Weekend”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Coming from America with jet lag and all, we were given the warmest of welcomes followed by a clean and very spacious room. Next day we woke up to a breathtaking view of Rothesay Bay followed by a healthy breakfast of yogurt and fruits. (Fully cooked breakfast available too). Joan and Andy, with their vast knowledge of Bute, were always available to answer any questions we might've had about the island and its attractions. Thank you!! Would love to be able to do it all again.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing