We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It just gets better and better”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Buckiebro...
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It just gets better and better”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from our third stay in this beautiful home. This year there were even more improvements than last. First, one of the twin rooms was now a double, which gives great flexibility when travelling with our extended family. There is now an additional twin room downstairs, and with a downstairs shower room next door this would be great if someone in the party has limited ability to get around. In fact I shared it with my five year old granddaughter who thought it a great adventure to be sleeping downstairs. There is now an electric fire in the main sitting room which gives a cosy glow in the evenings. A new television was most welcome.Finally, with wi-fi installed, there was something for everyone. As we have said before, the amazing views warm the soul. We were blessed with fantastic weather which meant even more days on the beach and once again we managed a picnic at Scalpsie. Bute is a small island and you would think a week would be enough but I assure you there is so much to see and do you need to come back again and again. We still did not accomplish everything on our list. Ah well, there's always next year, and with this lovely home to share with nearest and dearest, how could you resist?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tish R
Middlebrough
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed with with Hubby, two daughters and Mother for 3 nights to attend Sisters Wedding on the Isle of Bute. Firstly ferry transfer from Glasgow to Isle is about half hour and quite enjoyable and relaxing. The walk with cases and luggage from ferry terminal to house was about 20 minutes. The views are to die for .Literally could have been anywhere in the world The weather was amazing (was expecting the worst). On arrival at house we were hoping for something nice but did not expect what we got. The house is absolutely beautiful. Spent half hour just walking around looking at all the amazing rooms and lovely furniture. Would like to say thank you for bottle of wine left in kitchen. Was a very welcome touch and after travelling all day from North East England to get there did not last long. Ha Ha. Nice walk back towards Ferry terminal takes you to all the shops/restaurants which were plentiful.
In the three days spent there with family I can say there was not one thing that I needed that I did not find. The house is full of everything you could possibly need. Did not find enough time to visit much of the area which was a shame but had an amazing time. Thank You

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house itself was gorgeous.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckiebro...
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hard to beat, we had to return.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We returned as our family and friends had enjoyed the house last time. Since our last visit the downstairs bathroom had been re-fitted and it was truly lovely. As our family had grown (by 2) in the last year we took the fourth bedroom which was as comfortable as the others we have used. We cooked more this time as it was easier than going out with two babies and a four year old and the kitchen really does have everything a respectable cook needs. There is nothing negative to say about this home - the situation is ideal with beautiful a outlook on a much under-rated island. It is clear from the visitor book that many people return time and again - and no wonder. It is hard to beat. We added kite flying to the geocaching we love doing, and we managed a picnic above Scalpsay Bay again, watching the basking seals. The deer seemed to follow us round the island - lots of sightings this time - the golf course and even on the road between Kilchattan Bay and Ettriick Bay. We will return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Looking at the view when I got up
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonMay...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magificant house, beautiful island... amazed there weren't more tourists.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in. As we first came into the house the reaction was 'Wow!' from all of us. The rooms are huge and beautifully furnished. Top quality bathrooms/showers. Front rooms roomy yet cosy with amazing views. Beds and bedrooms very comfortable. Lovely huge hall and stairs which make you feel like you are in a mansion.

But best for us (a 'foodie' family who like to cook) was the amazing kitchen with all mod cons. The kitchen was great for eating in but we also were keen to make use of the beautiful dining room for a proper Sunday roast... complete with Royal Worcester serving dishes and crockery.

We loved Bute and explored a lot of the island whilst geocaching (treasure hunting with GPS - Bute has lots of caches - check a search engine to find out more). Enjoyed a tour of Mount Stuart House and wandering round the grounds there (allow a day).

The weather was warm and pleasant but changeable - one minute we were swimming in the beautiful warm, clear sea at Ettrick Bay and 10 minutes later were in the car sheltering from a thunder storm. Not a problem if you don't mind being flexible with what you do - make the most of the beaches when it's nice and stay cosy in the house when it's not... or make for the teashop.

The town centre is interesting for an afternoon wander. First stop off should be the new Discovery Centre for tourist info from very helpful staff, info about the island's heritage and a touching memorial to local-girl-turned-singing-star Lena Zavaroni.

If you're eating out, the Victoria Hotel upstairs has delicious food and if you can get a table in the window you will get fabulous views whilst enjoying your meal.

One final recommendation - the staff at the local library (behind the castle in Rothesey) are really helpful and you can book free use of the computers in case you need to check up on your emails!

Finally, the only downside to this holiday was it made us yearn for a gorgeous kitchen once we got home!!! So instead of saving money by getting this great value holiday in the UK, we've ended up paying for a new kitchen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of rooms, furnishings and kitchen
Liked least: If I was coming with another family I would want two double bedrooms, not just one double bed for whole house.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This is a much loved home with a lovely atmosphere.
Liked least: No interne3t access (though my son found that liberating!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional style of house and the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
celavie
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing house, stunning views”
Reviewed 20 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our group of 3 adults and 3 children had the pleasure of staying at Oceanus for one week in August 2011. The house is huge, with beautiful gardens at the back. Unfortunately the weather wasn't beautiful, but the house made up for that. The kitchen was just amazing, and we preferred to eat in there rather than use the huge dinningroom. The 2 main bedrooms were gorgeous, and the beds were extremely comfy and immaculate. It could be slightly cleaner in other places if aimed at the luxury market. However it was also the most well-equiped rental we have stayed in. The views were simply stunning, no wonder the living room has no curtains! It's a 2 minute drive on the edge of Rothesay, due to the weather we never walked, but I would say about a 15 minute walk along the promenade.
Two things on Bute not to be missed are Mount Stuart House which is impressive (tip: you can go to the Visitor Centre only and use the fantastic cafe and childrens play area), and the fantastic food and service at the Kinggarth Hotel on the way to Kilchattan Bay.
All in all, a nice Scottish family break made better by staying at Oceanus. Just shame about the weather, but it is Scotland...

* Talk about the location & amenities
* Say what you liked best & least

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing