We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Shona Gaon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shona Gaon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Visited last year and enjoyed it so decided to pay another visit. Glad we did, another delicious meal. Fabulous food and brilliant value for money, along with our own bottle of wine (BYOB). Would be nice to see an improvement in the decor, but then that's not why you're there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calais2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited the Shona Gaon after a recommendation from a friend who lives local. It doesnt look much from outside and too be fair it doesn't look much inside either. We went about 6.30 on a Sat night and go a table for two no probs. On arrival we were told we had to bring out own alcohol, a slight inconvenience but a quick visit to Haddows and we were sorted. We got a shared started and a couple of curry's with the usual sides. The food was fantastic. plentiful portion size, reasonably prices and the waiter was first class even though he struggled understanding English Dont be fooled by the simplicity of the decor of the restaurant, the food is fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nespa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most excellent food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Superb meal Great menu Why was this place empty on a Friday night Go and enjoy a meal here I had the Lamb Korai and would recommend it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, worth a visit”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Both times I have visited here the restaurant has been pretty empty which is really a shame as the food is brilliant! The decor isn't fantastic but the staff are helpful and attentive without hovering too much. The main thing to say is that the curries taste fantastic - do give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eleanorrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I must concur”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I must agree with the review written by Andy McEwan; the restaurant has been taken over recently and is under new management. The new staff are doing what they can under what must be difficult conditions and it's a lot to ask for new folk to achieve overnight the standards of the previous successful owners. I agree with Andy's assessment and description of the food we were given. The starters were of a good standard, but, our main meals were of a rather be based on an ancient Persian recipe. It was neither Persian nor Indian it was awful. I suppose living in London with its wide and varied restaurants & cuisines we are spoilt...but, that's not the point a good meal is a good whether in comes from Rothesay or any other place. I like Andy will not be eating their again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shona Gaon also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing