We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Stuart

Mount Stuart
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a fantastic place to visit .The guide was so knowledgeable and gave us lots of insider information on the house and the family. The house is really beautiful as too are the grounds. the staff in the gift and coffee shop were very pleasant. Only one down point, the restaurant. We were totally ignored here, and in the end walked out after 15 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank var1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    135
    32
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just returned from a trip to Rothesey and took the time to visit Mount Stuart House which was the highlight of the holiday.I was amazed by the interior and the exterior everything was so clean and our tour guide Megan was fantastic. Well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

a magnificent example of a gothic mansion. allow plenty of time for this visit. wonderful gardens. small gift shop . welcome tea rooms etc

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great house, great grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great tour guide(you have to take a guided tour which we usually avoid but this was excellent); gardens and trees are worth visiting on their own; modern restaurant in visitor centre was excellent - local produce - staff very helpful. Very relaxing time in the huge spaces that you can find in the grounds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iamnotabanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“James Gorman (Guide) was the star attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have been planning a trip to Mount Stuart House for many years and finally fulfilled this goal today. This stunning example of Victorian architecture did not disappoint (marble, stained glass, wood carvings, tapestries and artwork to die for) but the star of the show was the engaging and endlessly entertaining guide called James Gorman who is an unsung hero. If you get the chance to ask for a tour with James then ask for him by name - he has a wonderful turn of phrase and a dry wit that made our visit all the more memorable. Well worth the £11.50 fee. I would also highly recommend the delicious afternoon tea (it is advisable to book this in the panoramic restaurant before you go on your tour) which was a perfect end to an enjoyable afternoon on this secluded Isle of Bute.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TIPSLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Stuart also viewed

 
Benmore, Cowal Peninsula
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Mount Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing