We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howards Way Guest House
Ranked #12 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night last night in room 7. Beautiful spacious modern room with a huge balcony and spectacular views. The place was spotless and the bed was really comfy too. The owners were very welcoming and they put on a fantastic breakfast! Real coffee and plenty of butter for the toast got this place extra marks from us! Couldn't fault howard's way.... We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
hello amy thankyou for taking the time to review howardsway sorry its took a little time to respond we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality we look forward to your return .
roy and sarah howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
33
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fantastic situation overlooking the bay, wonderful warm welcome from Sarah and Roy and a room that was a pleasure to stay in. We had a disastrous stay in another B & B in Rothesay a couple of years ago and it put us off Bute. Decided to go back and by sheer luck we chose Howards Way for a three night stay. The room (7) was large, spotless and beautifully appointed, it had a private balcony, with great views over the bay, that was larger than a lot of rooms we have stayed in. We had good weather and it was a joy to sit out on it. The breakfast was top class, Sarah and Roy are great cooks, they also keep a really good bar which we spent time in every evening. We wish every place we had stayed in this summer was as welcoming and had such a friendly couple running it. We hope to go back again next summer, we want to spend more time exploring the Isle of Bute and staying in Howards Way.

Room Tip: Go for room 7, large, very modern, very large balcony overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picman7096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
well what a great review we are so happy it met with your requirments and thankyou for saying so many good things about us we do try to please and make every ones stay enjoyable come back to bute again please dont leave it so long
regards roy and sarah howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night 23/7. Was last minute my hubby and I booked the night before. Roy and Sarah so friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotless as was the rest of the guest house. Who cares if the bathroom was small as in previous reviews in my eyes cleanliness always comes first. Had a great wee afternoon sitting on the patio enjoying the lovely sunshine oh and a few beers. Breakfast was lovely and so sorry Roy n Sarah that I didn't eat it all was a tad to much for me. Will certainly recommend you to friends and family and hopefully be back soon. Thank you. Carol n Ian

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellgirlAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
it so nice when guests give you a review that is un biased and nice but we have to keep trying to improve aand we are glad you enjoyed your stay withus and as we say to many hope to see you again at howardsway best wishes roy and sarah howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopbriggs, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from our fourth stay with Roy and Sarah at Howard's Way and are pleased to say the standards are as high as they always were. The location is ideal, the food is good and the hosts very hospitable. If you are lucky enough to book room 7, there is a private balcony from which the views are breathtaking. It is really no surprise that they get so many return bookings. We would not even consider staying anywhere else when we visit Bute

Room Tip: Room 7 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMcIlroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
hi bill sorry for the delay in the response but ive had a stroke and just getting on the road to recovery thanks for posting a review again as always we appreciate the time and effort guests put in to make a comment hopefull it wont be to long before you and Margaret are visiting again best wishes roy and sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had what was booked as the "large double" which was average with a tiny en suite which you could only move sideways in! The shower was weak and because of the size of the en suite there was no way you could get dry in there. expect in this day n age to have a hairdryer of which there was none.
Everything was clean and the linen was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for saying how warm & friendly we are ; just to say hair dryers and irons plus ironing boards are freely available on request; once again thank you for the review. roy & sarah howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our 1 night here.
It is within walking distance from the ferry and reasonable priced. Our room was attractive, quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good too. The staff are all really friendly. Beautiful view across the bay. We watched the sun set across the water.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkingirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
thanks for that glowing review we do always try to our best and its very nice when guests take the time to tell us. thankyou . roy & sarah howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to Rothesay for a funeral and had a twin room (we sleep better that way) - no. 5
Pros: very clean, quiet, bedlinen good (not perfumed) breakfast ample, heating certainly worked and could be controlled (thermostatic valve) in the room, staff friendly, good location.
Cons: Twin room VERY small, en-suite bathroom absolutely TINY with a joke basin (had to shave in the shower, shower worked but had leaking hose, cooking smells strong (chip fat) sometimes due to fire doors being repeatedly wedged open - not good for safety.
The owner acknowledged that the twin rooms were very small and kept asking if we'd requested a twin. Fine, but it doesn't say anywhere on the website that the twin rooms are too small to swing a cat

Room Tip: Don't get a twin - they're so small only one person can move around at once and the basin is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontUsuallyDoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howards Way Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howards Way Guest House

Property: Howards Way Guest House
Address: 23 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howards Way Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howards Way is a 7 bedroom family run hotel nestling on Rothesay sea front. It is only a 5 min. walk from the ferry terminal and town centre. We are now fully licensed and our bar does look out onto Rothesay bay so you can sit out on our sea facing patio or sit in the comfort of our bar lounge and enjoy the views through the floor to ceiling windows. All rooms have free WI-FI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howards Way Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howards Way Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing