We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food...”

Mount Stuart Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food...”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We called here a few times during our 2 weeks holiday on Bute.

First time we visited, I had a chicken caesar salad which was lovely and my hubby had salmon open sandwich which he said was delicious.
The second time, I had Bute burger which was lovely, and my hubby had salmon open sandwich again! He really enjoyed it.

We thought the food was absolutely fantastic - however the service was very slow and we ordered a tea which never arrived (and they weren't busy, there was only 6 other people in!).
We have been here before and it was always lovely but it doesn't seem to be the same...

We would still go back and have another lunch as we really enjoyed the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SazzySparkyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a lovely meal in the Mount Stuart Restaurant. The Cullen Skink soup was to die for. The waiter service was excellent given the fact that a large number of people turned up at the same time all demanding food instantly. The food was of a high quality and we would recommend this restaurant to anyone. A well done to the staff and chef for making our visit even more memorable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch at Mount Stewart”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have visited the visitor resturaunt several times & always been pleased with the food, setting & service. They use quality fresh local produce that is used to make creative meals as you wait. Will be returning again as we are regular visitors to this lovely island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlochleven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have eaten here on numerous occasions & have never been disappointed. The restaurant itself is of a lovely modern design with clean lines. The staff are always polite & efficient. The menu is imaginative & modern. The new potatoes we had September 2013 were to die for, my husband also adored the chocolate & beetroot cake.
This May we sampled the burger, all we can say is wow! Portion sizes are just right, food is presented well with clean tastes to the palette and well done chef for giving us a menu with' no chips '.The homemade scones are the best we have ever tasted.
All in all a visit to this restaurant is a lovely experience in every way, if only they were opening for our 2 week holiday in September! Please Mount Stuart.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria1441955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having arrived at Mount Stuart having been disappointed in Rothesay we were delighted to find this attractive and modern eaterie. We all had lentil soup, which was delicious and came with excellent bread. We all followed that with the chef's special burger. Two of the three of us would not normally choose burger but this was absolutely delicious.
Service was quick and efficient and we found this to be an excellent light lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kildwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Stuart Restaurant also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Kilchattan Bay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Mount Stuart Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing