We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Coffee Stop, Rothesay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coffee Stop

The Coffee Stop
Ranked #3 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Rothesay
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: This is a small family run coffee shop serving home made soup, freshly prepared sandwiches and a selection of home made cakes.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The Coffee Stop, Rothesay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

I have been coming for coffee for years, a really busy place for locals and visitors to mingle!
Very good food and great prices!!!, very friendly, a real must for a coffee!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and food is awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The atmosphere in this cafe is terrible I have heard the man shouting and swearing behind the counter. The food is poor much better places to choose from.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerjaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, fresh and good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Popped in here for a quick lunch with my husband. Had lovely homemade soup and then we both opted for the sandwich specials. The service was quick and friendly. Sandwiches made up fresh as we asked for them and even the additional requests re:sandwiches catered for with no qualms. Both delicious. Prices excellent value for money. Yes it would appear that the locals do use but that is always a good reason to visit a place in my book. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The coffee stop is very good with the toffee cheesecake being amazing! Definately a must try at the coffee stop. The gammon salad sandwich is the usual for me and is always very fresh and tasty and not expensive at all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food at a terrific price. Best sandwich takeaway on Bute.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I ordered three lovely rolls and three cakes for under £9. Very friendly busy place, people offered to share their table with us but we ordered take away to eat on the prom instead. Clean toilets and a lovely view of the castle too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barwell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Stop also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to The Coffee Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing