We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room and owner couldnt do enough for you”
Review of St. Ebba B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Ebba B & B
Ranked #3 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely room and owner couldnt do enough for you”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

lovely room my husband and i were in the attic room suberb view but watch out very low ceiling in room banged my head a few times but would definetly stay again breakfast lovely only thing i would mark this down on was being asked the night before as at the time very hungry and felt guilty as left quite a lot as wasnt as hungry in the morning but feel if i had asked to change wouldnt have been a problem

Room Tip: asked for lower floor as stairs are a bit narrow but would stay here again and would recommend to fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandralafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
46
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Words cannot describe how warmly received we were at St. Ebba. Kristine and David have an easy-going and unassuming manner and are ideally suited to dealing with people. Hospitality, ambience and comfort were all first class for our 3-day stay. Breakfast in the morning set us up for the day as we would be greeted by a beaming smile from a lovely young lass to the lovely cooked breakfast which set us up for the day and the lovely sea view. Access to all parts of the Isle of Bute is easy from this location. it is no more than a 15 minute walk to Rothesay town and bus stop is just along the road. We can only thank all involved at St. Ebba for a lovely stay. You won't regret choosing St. Ebba.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martinmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I along with daughter, son in law and grandaughter (5) had decided to have a weekend in rothesay but as it was the Bute Highland games, had not realised we should have booked accomodation a lot earlier.

We were only staying one night and several of the so called "popular" B and B's were not interested in letting us stay. However this was good luck when the chap from Visit Scotland called me back and told me he had secured accomodation for us - a double room ensuite and a family room ensuite with Sea Views. We could not believe our luck.

So we got the boat to rothesay, and although we were early - the lovely owner (Kristine Watt) was so happy to welcome us to her lovely home. Our rooms were ready and as promised with stunning sea views. The accomodation was first class, beautifully clean and well presented with lovely thick towels, bathroom accessories, tea coffee facilities and in fact everything a good B and B should have. The bedroom was tasefully decorated and of excellent quality fittings.

We registered and set off, stopping to check out the lovely dining room and the enormous and beautifully decorated lounge. The views to the Kyles were absolutely stunning. We put in our breakfast order (fantastic choice) and headed out.

When we returned late that evening, we enjoyed a great nights sleep with windows wide open and the sound of the sea lulling us to sleep.

Breakfast was as good as it sounded and smelt!!!! Full Scottish, delicious, hot fresh brown toast, home made grapefuit marmalade, coffee....... but choices of fruit juices, cereals, porridge, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, kippers etc. Again with that wonderful view to sea, watching the boats and the ferries come in and out,

After breakfast we checked out, cash no cards but not a problem at all. The owner kindly agreed to look after our bags whilst we went for a walk ..... We returned a couple of hours later and bid farewell.

A truly warm Scottish welcome awaits you at St Ebba. Great value for money, lovely home cooked local produce and great accomodation. Probably some of the best views on the island.

Dont miss it, we might even see you there the next time !!1

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have amazing Sea Views, rooms on the second floor have Combed Celings, but does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxie_and_mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

wonderful 2nights stay, large comfortable room, great views over the bay, best breakfast had in long time, smoked salmon and poached eggs.
Large lounge which is very comfortable & Breakfast room Which both of them look out over the bay.
Local golf course was great, very tight, and with views all over to the likes of arran and the ayrshire coast.
definately come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Plentiful parking, a very warm welcome from the owners for whom nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful double room with huge, very comfortable bed. Very modern bathroom with good quality facilities. Wide choice of good quality breakfast, with stunning views of the bay from both the breakfast room and the lounge. The island has little going on but I would highly recommend this accommodation if you're visiting Bute.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the St Ebba B & B and the friendly welcome we got there. Our room was up in the attic and although the stairs were a little tough on the legs this was compensated for by a great view of the bay at Rothesay and my fiance was able to ferry spot to his heart's content! The room was a clean spacious ensuite with a comfortable bed and a good selection of teas, coffees and biscuits, which were restocked everyday. The ensuite was modern and had a good selection of toiletries and huge fluffy towels. The B & B is part of a very grand Victorian building which still much of it's original very impressive plaster work and there is a lovely lounge with huge windows to admire the view from. The breakfasts were wonderful with a selection of cereals, yogurts and fresh fruits and then a choice of 4 cooked options: full Scottish breakfast, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, kippers and pancakes with syrup. The food was well prepared with fresh, good quality ingredients. We would also highly reccommend the porridge! All in all this was a great base for exploring the Island of Bute and we would definitely stay at this B & B again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs you might want to ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
910 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ebba B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ebba B & B

Property: St. Ebba B & B
Address: 37 Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ebba B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ebba is grade 2 listed Victorian villa overlooking the sea. Admire the panoramic views over the Rothesay bay, towards Cowal Peninsula, Loch Striven and the Kyles of Bute. Warm summer evenings, relax and enjoy the fabulous sunsets. We have a comfortable relaxed style. Rooms are a high standard, en-suite and including welcome trays, TV, hairdryers and quality Scottish toiletries. Breakfast is fresh home cooked local produce including pancakes and smoked fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ebba B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ebba B & B Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing