We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamein House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamein House
Ranked #14 of 19 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you fancy a slow paced relaxed holiday; this is the place to be. On arrival you're met with a cheery smile and a very warm welcome, you are shown into large airy bedrooms with amazing views.
Complimentary tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits await you and are always available in your room. You set the time for your five course breakfast, early or late, nothing phases Ursula, she accomodates your every need (as breakfast is cooked fresh) vegitarians are also catered for. You can sit and chat to other guests over breakfast, there's no one hovering over you to get you moving on, there's always a relaxed atmosphere. Ursula is very knowledgable sbout the island and will give you a few tips on where to go and what to see.
There are a few artifacts from the battle of El Alemein, so you not only have a great holiday, but Ursula can also give you a small history lesson. a first class landlady.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A very comfortable stay at a really reasonable price. Ursula is a very friendly and helpful host. Bedrooms are well equipped and most seem to have great sea views. Breakfasts are substantial. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had another great time in Rothesay staying with Ursula at Alamein House. The view across the bay from the dining room and the bedrooms is fantastic and I never close the curtains, much to my wife's dismay! Ursula cooks the breakfasts to perfection (how does she do that?), and the next time we come back to Bute to visit my friend I know where we'll be staying.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, (a double), and our two sons stayed in room 5, (a twin). Both are on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Dunmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed a couple of nights at Alamein House this week - Absolutely first class and excellent value for money.

I had a nice room that was clean comfortable plenty of toiletries for the en suite. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room with packets of biscuits.

The room had a wonderful view with the Firth of Clyde literally over the road and the lovely hills across the water.

The breakfast is fantastic - you could not ask for any more - really setting me up for the day.

Ursula who runs the hotel is lovely she gives you ideas of where to go and is very friendly.

If I return to Rothesay I will certainly be calling the Alamein House to stay there again

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the front you have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AcombDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundanoon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This B & B was run by one of the most charming ladies you could ever wish to meet, nothing was a trouble, the accommodation was comfortable and breakfast enjoyable, with off road parking, from our window we could watch the ferry and cuise ships come and go, and the morning we left our hostess came out to wave us off as the ferry past her guest house.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at this B&B in february and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent. The landlady was very welcoming and gave us some good ideas as to what we could do in Rothesay. We enquired about the history of the house and we were treated to a look at a room dedicated to the house's history, very interesting.
There is off road parking at the front of the house.
From a disabled persons point of view there are steps at the entrance and stairs up to the rooms, if you need to use a wheelchair then it is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#10 of 19 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#13 of 19 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamein House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamein House

Property: Alamein House
Address: 28 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Also Known As:
Alamein House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing