We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB FAB FAB”
Review of Cannon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cannon House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FAB FAB FAB”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we came to Bute for Masonic weekend. Melanie, Alison were just the best - We would reccomend this to everyone!! Thanks for letting us stay we had a blast! Reception and room carpet need deep clean but that didnt effect our stay we loved it and the people our hosts were the best and we will be back x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_lo1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    19
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
49
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Well I actually did not stay in the hotel although I was booked. There had been a slight confusion with the date. However, the owner actually offered me the spare bedroom in their own apt for next to nothing. After travelling around the world in my work, I have never run into this kind of hospitality or ability to sort out a problem. I was very impressed with her kindness and offer to arrange something so I would not be on the street. Since I had friends in town, I was able to stay with them. If the hotel is anything as great as its owners, I'm sure people will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bswuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We came to Bute for a wedding, and my friends and I booked out all of the rooms. It was absolutely ideal for us, only 2 minutes walk from the ferry with stunning views over the water. The hostess was lovely, very helpful and the breakfasts were really tasty with plenty of choice. Lovely garden at the back too, which we made good use of! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel had a great view of the water and the beautiful surrounding area, was central and had very nice rooms/bathrooms. There was a great selection of breakfasts to choose from, and ours were delicious.
The best thing about the hotel, however, was the service. The owner was really friendly and kind, and after I left my sunglasses behind at the room, she promptly sent them all the way to London.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackh1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Unlike a similar B&B nearby, they were happy to accept my booking for only one night. Seems the owners family once owned it and has been repurchased. Great views from the top floor which my American cousins I was hosting really appreciated. They were left with a great memory of Scottish hospitality. Thank you Cannon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The perfect place to stay if you plan a trip to Rothesay on the Isle of Bute. It is within easy walking distance of the ferry and the town. Beautiful views of the sea and mountains from our large bedroom window. Our gracious host and hostess made us feel at home and took good care of us. My heavy suitcase was carried for me to the third floor bedroom.

The host lived in this home when he was younger. They recently bought it back. Their aim is to please and they certainly did.

I can't remember the exact price, but I know it was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanihahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I had noticed the good reviews for this place, and kind of last minutely had emailed about a reservation. I was replied to promptly and courteously. I advised of the occasion, as i was looking to propose, and has asked for a late checkout. I was offered a wonderful suite, with a great view, and late checkout was offered with no fuss! Service with a smile and friendliness, whilst being unobtrusive. We will be back, as it is conveniently located, with nice staff, and is a building full of character. 1 very small suggestion, frying the "tattie scone", but that's just personal preference!!

Room Tip: the suite with the "love seat", a view that surely cannot be surpassed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon House Hotel

Property: Cannon House Hotel
Address: 5 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cannon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cannon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannon Hotel Rothesay
Cannon House Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing