We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property
Ardencraig House Apartments, Barone apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ardencraig House Apartments, Barone apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Ardencraig House Apartments, Barone apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LTSC82
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Ardencraig House. Everything we needed was provided and David and Elaine couldn’t have been more helpful. The apartments were spotless and had fantastic facilities so that we were able to easily cook meals when ever we wanted. There was a great stash of DVDs and board games for when we weren’t out exploring the beautiful Island.

The walking was beautiful and easily accessible from the apartments, I was especially excited to see my first ever seals outside of captivity. Although the Island is small, we were not short of places to eat and drink and had a great night out on Saturday, where we sang a lot of karaoke and drank whisky with the locals.

I would recommend the apartments to anyone and am already looking forward to my next visit.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
Loved meeting you all and hope to see you again soon xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the two ground floor apartments as there was a large group of us including 2 dogs. Both apartments were lovely and there was everything there that you needed for a self catering holiday. The owners made you feel very welcome and we will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
It was great to have you all stay with us. Lovely family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smeechan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had a really fabulously, comfortingly warm and cosy, feel good holiday.”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Elaine and David are a Lovely Couple, Very friendly and welcoming. The accommodation is ideal, very comfortable and clean, well looked after. I felt relaxed and very at home, id say they have thought of, and provided for everything. The pictures don't do it enough justice. The views are beautiful too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you very much. It was lovely to meet you and the other Meg and Millie! So pleased you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m155kerry
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just stayed at the ardencraig house apt with my partner a friend and my dog and what a beautiful friendly place this is. It has stunning views and a warm atmosphere. Thank you to Elaine who made us feel very welcome. Will defiantly return for another visit and next time will be longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a nice review. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suescott1
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Superb apartment with stunning views.Very spacious and comfortable Elaine and David made us very welcome as did their 2 lovely dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Meg and Millie just love it here. Always someone to throw a stick or 2. It was lovely to meet you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakemcdia...
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, stunning views & very peaceful!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner & I accompanied by our dogs stayed for 2 nights in the barone apartment. It was very spacious, clean, comfortable & well equipped.
Elaine gave us a very friendly welcome & was very helpful.
The apartments have stunning views & it was lovely & quiet! Great location to unwind but not too far away from the main town. We will definitely be visiting again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2014
Thank you very much, so pleased you had a good time. We are looking forward to seeing you and your lovely dogs again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeada...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful escape from city life.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Visiting the Isle of Bute for the first time, we booked to stay in Barone. We were greeted by David and Elaine who were very friendly and accommodating, they showed us around the apartment and grounds before leaving us to our stay. The apartment was spacious, clean and to a very high standard, with comfortable beds and sofa, every facility you would need to cook in the kitchen and to relax in the living room.

With breath taking views from the apartment, the Barone apartment was the perfect stay for our trip to the Island. I would recommend staying, and we will definitely be booking to stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 18-24
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing