We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boat House
Ranked #1 of 19 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Argyll
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed one night on business. Beautiful room, wonderful views and an amazing breakfast, the Boat House Special was delicious. I felt very welcome. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnCScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
95
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at the boat house September 17 for 3 nights 2012. Can only agree with other reviews this was perfect in every way 5 min walk from ferry on the same road so not hard to find no need for taxi and no stress fiding it 5 mins into town walking.
Im not surpised it has been awarded excellent by trip adviser Sara is a very warm person, the house is spotless and breakfast is the best. Our very large room had lovely sea views over looking the bay beautiful with new ensuite .Nice comfortable king size bed, felt like family if im honest, the hospitality was so warm breakfast was served by Pat who again is a very nice person and very friendly breakfast was the best served hot and with a smile and a nice chat with Pat. would we stay there again definitly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were looking for a nice B&B for a week-end escape to Bute and liked the look of the web-site for the Boathouse, and it turned out to be an amazing choice.
The location is ideal (facing the bay, within walking distance of everything in Rothesay), we received a wonderful and warm welcome and we absolutely loved the beautiful room in which we stayed. Room 8 turned out to be a suite, with an elegant and quiet room at the back, a lovely little living-room with a great view of the sea and a stylish bathroom.
Sara gave us a few tips regarding good restaurants (do try N°29 on the sea-front, it's very recent and isn't yet on tripadvisor, but the food was truly delicious), and provided us with wine glasses, a lovely touch, which we put to good use as we sipped some wine (coop within 5min walk) before walking to the restaurant.
Breakfasts were also very great, and the elegant dining-room also has a great view on the bay. Starting the day with Egg Benedict "the Boathouse way" while listening to some lovely jazzy music was really relaxing.
We only stayed two nights but felt really relaxed, and it's certainly a place where we'll happily return in future.

Room Tip: Ask for room n°8, it's on the 2nd floor and has its own living room. It's like staying in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Boathouse is a must for visitors to Rothesay, you receive a warm friendly welcome from your hosts Sara & Paul. Our room was beautifully decorated and very very clean, the disabled facilities were more than apt for my needs and the breakfast was delicious. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: The disabled room has a beautiful view of the ferry coming in and out of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Sometimes (fortunately rarely) those gushing TA reviews don't seem justified but in the case of the Boat House you can be assured that all the 5 star reviews that have gone before are appropriate. The only possible quibble is that the front rooms, whilst having the lovely sea view are on the main road and there is a bit of traffic noise but not particularly noticeable overnight. Also the next door property was at the time of our visit covered in scaffolding with some building work going on.

There's not much more to say really because its all been said. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed one night in this spectacular B&B and wished we could have stayed longer.Sara and Paul made us feel very welcome. Our room was beautiful, spacious.very clean.very comfortable with a marvellous view of the sea. Breakfast was wonderful,probably the best we've had anywhere.Great location with no problem parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for a weekend in room 5 and it was brilliant. The rooms are really comfortable and the views from the sea facing rooms are amazing. Everywhere is spotless, the breakfast is superb (the best vegetarian breakfasts I have had in hotels and meat eating hubby loved his too) and the hosts are warm and friendly. The location is spot on with a very short walk to the town centre where we had dinner at the Waterfront Bistro (TripAdvisor and Boathouse recommended) or an idyllic walk along the seaa front in the other direction. I could have sat there all day looking at the changing view depending on the weather. If you are going to Bute, stay here in one of the seaview rooms and leave some room for that breakfast....we can't wait to return. Thanks to Sara and Paul.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit extra for the sea view - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmite_girly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat House

Property: Boat House
Address: 15 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly and good quality bed and breakfast that hopes to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing