We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous island and wonderful B&B”
Review of Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boat House
Ranked #2 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Gorgeous island and wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The island of Bute is a quaint seaside resort. The views are amazing and the people are really friendly. Stayed at a wonderful guest house called the Boat House which is right by the ferry port. Owner is really welcoming and the breakfasts are fab. Would really recommend this B&B if you are planning to stay on the island. Fantastic break over the Easter holidays

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour. View is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uk12345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
97
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The best boutique hotel / luxury bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in, bar none. (And I have stayed in many). The views. The bed. The furnishing. The shower. The staff. And last, but by no means least, the breakfast. All PERFECT.

Room Tip: Stay in room 3 for the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernhillangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with work. Super-comfortable room, delicious breakfast, stunning views. Simply a great place to stay. I've stayed here a few times and have never been disappointed. I would recommend this B&B highly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnCScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was lovely, felt at home didn't even have to lock room door, felt so welcome and staff was so nice and helpful. food was super. Rooms were as clean as they come. No problems at all. Would really recommend this hotel if anyone was to go stay over in Rothesay thanks a lot.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bradleydunn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Unfortunately, we could only spend one night at the Boathouse, We were met by Sarah who went out of her way to settle us in and ensure we were catered for that evening.
As a retired mariner, I could settle down with a refreshment and give points to the frequent ferry traffic manoeuvres!!
Slightly boring for my partner but as the room was so comfortable, she settled down to watch Scotland's greatest ever defeat at the rugby!!
Our breakfast was very good and I enjoyed eggs benedict, perfect for a Sunday morning. The inevitable Scottish Breakfast was available.
The weather was not particularly good but the room was very warm, to go with the previously mentioned welcome.

Room Tip: Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just back from a wonderful weekend at the Boathouse. We travelled to Rothesay as a family of 2 adults and 2 teens to attend a friends birthday party and the central location and great reviews of the Boathouse made it the obvious choice. Luckily the family suite on the top floor was available, and so we had 2 bedrooms , a bathroom and a sitting room all to ourselves. This was perfect as it gave both us and the kids much needed space to relax and enjoy our stay. The rooms were well furnished, comfortable, spotlessly clean and a joy to stay in with all the facilities you could wish for and great views of the bay. Our host Sara could not have been nicer or more helpful. She went out of her way to ensure that we had a great stay ( even phoning me as our ferry docked to check that we knew how to get to the Boathouse and then waiting on the steps to show us in when we arrived a short time later ) and recommended a lovely restaurant ( The Waterfront Bistro - must give them a mention - great food and friendly owners ) for our evening meal. Breakfast was a delight with even my usually picky kids clearing their plates. The food was delicious and the friendly service from Pat was spot on. We are so glad that we chose to stay here and were sorry to leave. We will be recommending the Boathouse to all our friends and hope to pay a return visit later in the year.Thanks for a wonderful stay !

Room Tip: Family suite perfect for those with older kids - plenty of space and a tv in each room so no argumen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was booked in through work on arrival got such a friendly welcome from Sara the owner she took my bags up to my room and explained how it all worked the bed is so comfy ,the views from the room are stunning.Everything is modern and stylish and the facilities are great amazing shower too ,spotlessly clean and as for breakfast fantastic food and lovely friendly staff if your coming to rothesay stay here you won't regret it I cant find fault at all and I've stayed in a lot of hotels .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wammakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat House

Property: Boat House
Address: 15 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly and good quality bed and breakfast that hopes to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing