We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”
Review of Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boat House
Ranked #2 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a welcoming place, clean, views, convenient and fab breakfast. Can't be improved upon. Plus thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Harry haws where mum had her first cocktail ( she's 84). Disabled room a particularly good feature as they can be hard to find.

Room Tip: Try and get one at the front for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desfac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were satisfied overall with our 1-night stay at the Boat House during an island-hopping tour of the West Coast. We felt it was above average but with a few points of attention.

Good points:-
- Great view from our bay window of the harbour and ferries
- Pleasant, clean decor throughout the house
- Wonderful breakfast (one of the best we've had in a Scottish B&B)
- Friendly and helpful owners
- Availability of easy parking on the street outside (note you can park on both sides of the road)
- Convenience for centre of Rothesay (3 minute walk along the shoreline)

Less good points (trying not to be too picky but...):-
- Didn't like the pillows on the bed, which were full of air that soon "deflated" and therefore became uncomfortable
- Bedding had seen better days and the fitted sheet had several tears which must have been immediately obvious to whoever made up the bed (so why not do something about it?)
- Lack of space (shelves, hooks etc) to put things in the bathroom

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was the first stage on our island hopping trip around Scotland...and what a great way to start with a stay at the Boathouse.
Bedrooms and public rooms were beautifully furnished and very clean. Lovely guest lounge with TV, stereo, books etc.
Sara was extremely welcoming and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. We were on a budget as were going to be paying for a lot of accommodation during our trip so opted for the cheaper double room. All rooms were full on our first day but as there was just ourselves on the second day we were moved into the lovely front bedroom which overlooks the harbour...a much appreciated touch!
Breakfast was fantastic...and plentiful, with good fresh coffee and a great choice.
On the subject of food, we also tried the fare at Harry Haws which was equally delicious.
If we ever go back to Bute we will be staying at the Boathouse!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have now had the pleasure of staying at the Boat House on the Isle of Bute twice. So glad I did. It is absolutely excellent in every way. The welcome, the position, the rooms, the cleanliness and of course probably the best full breakfast I have ever had.

Sara and Paul are just lovely friendly people, but guess what? They even have a wonderful restaurant called Harry Haws, which provides the same brilliance. Whatever you want they do their best to provide.

On your next trip to Bute make this the first call.

Well done to both of you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My better half surprised me with a birthday weekend away to our favourite place and third visit to the boathouse. Sara and Paul are fantastic hosts and as always made our stay as comfortable as possible. Arriving at the boat house almost feels like coming back to a home from home and with amazing views of the bay we could happily sit for hours watching the world go by. We had a wee joke with Sara about breakfast interuppting our lie-in but I would happily get up at the crack of dawn for the breakfast, again as always absolutely delicious with my other half having the vegetarian option which looked almost as appetising as my full scottish. Thank you again for looking after us and we are already trying to see when we can squeeze our next visit in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The island of Bute is a quaint seaside resort. The views are amazing and the people are really friendly. Stayed at a wonderful guest house called the Boat House which is right by the ferry port. Owner is really welcoming and the breakfasts are fab. Would really recommend this B&B if you are planning to stay on the island. Fantastic break over the Easter holidays

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour. View is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uk12345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The best boutique hotel / luxury bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in, bar none. (And I have stayed in many). The views. The bed. The furnishing. The shower. The staff. And last, but by no means least, the breakfast. All PERFECT.

Room Tip: Stay in room 3 for the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernhillangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#8 of 18 in Rothesay
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Commodore Guest House
Commodore Guest House
#7 of 18 in Rothesay
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat House

Address: 15 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range: £87 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly and good quality bed and breakfast that hopes to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing