We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!!!”
Review of Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boat House
Ranked #2 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We've just returned from an excellent time at The Boathouse. Sara was so welcoming and helpful that we felt at home in no time. Our room (room 3) had a bay window looking out over the bay and was soooooo (!!) comfortable; breakfast was varied and delicious - enough to suit everyone's taste and favourites. We were delighted with our accommodation and then to find out about Paul and Harry Haw's was just the icing on the cake!
The meals there were brilliant - beautifully cooked, creatively presented and piping hot. Not only that but my gluten-free diet was catered for without any problem - couldn't be better! Would recommend these two establishments without hesitation - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for Room 3 if available - the view of the bay is magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69laughalot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
100
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebrides
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Arrived to a warm welcome and given a beautiful airy and spacious room with bay window overlooking the sea - 10 yards away ( is that why it's called a bay window ..... ) . Very comfortable , spotless and stylishly appointed ; an even-handed info book with choice of restaurants and advice . Breakfast delicious - go for the smoked haddock n poached eggs . Run by Sara who is genuinely interested in her guests and makes you feel instantly at home .
Kip Poulson Isle of Coll

Room Tip: Just ask - they're all good as the doors are open when untaken .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a welcoming place, clean, views, convenient and fab breakfast. Can't be improved upon. Plus thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Harry haws where mum had her first cocktail ( she's 84). Disabled room a particularly good feature as they can be hard to find.

Room Tip: Try and get one at the front for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desfac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were satisfied overall with our 1-night stay at the Boat House during an island-hopping tour of the West Coast. We felt it was above average but with a few points of attention.

Good points:-
- Great view from our bay window of the harbour and ferries
- Pleasant, clean decor throughout the house
- Wonderful breakfast (one of the best we've had in a Scottish B&B)
- Friendly and helpful owners
- Availability of easy parking on the street outside (note you can park on both sides of the road)
- Convenience for centre of Rothesay (3 minute walk along the shoreline)

Less good points (trying not to be too picky but...):-
- Didn't like the pillows on the bed, which were full of air that soon "deflated" and therefore became uncomfortable
- Bedding had seen better days and the fitted sheet had several tears which must have been immediately obvious to whoever made up the bed (so why not do something about it?)
- Lack of space (shelves, hooks etc) to put things in the bathroom

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was the first stage on our island hopping trip around Scotland...and what a great way to start with a stay at the Boathouse.
Bedrooms and public rooms were beautifully furnished and very clean. Lovely guest lounge with TV, stereo, books etc.
Sara was extremely welcoming and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. We were on a budget as were going to be paying for a lot of accommodation during our trip so opted for the cheaper double room. All rooms were full on our first day but as there was just ourselves on the second day we were moved into the lovely front bedroom which overlooks the harbour...a much appreciated touch!
Breakfast was fantastic...and plentiful, with good fresh coffee and a great choice.
On the subject of food, we also tried the fare at Harry Haws which was equally delicious.
If we ever go back to Bute we will be staying at the Boathouse!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have now had the pleasure of staying at the Boat House on the Isle of Bute twice. So glad I did. It is absolutely excellent in every way. The welcome, the position, the rooms, the cleanliness and of course probably the best full breakfast I have ever had.

Sara and Paul are just lovely friendly people, but guess what? They even have a wonderful restaurant called Harry Haws, which provides the same brilliance. Whatever you want they do their best to provide.

On your next trip to Bute make this the first call.

Well done to both of you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My better half surprised me with a birthday weekend away to our favourite place and third visit to the boathouse. Sara and Paul are fantastic hosts and as always made our stay as comfortable as possible. Arriving at the boat house almost feels like coming back to a home from home and with amazing views of the bay we could happily sit for hours watching the world go by. We had a wee joke with Sara about breakfast interuppting our lie-in but I would happily get up at the crack of dawn for the breakfast, again as always absolutely delicious with my other half having the vegetarian option which looked almost as appetising as my full scottish. Thank you again for looking after us and we are already trying to see when we can squeeze our next visit in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#12 of 18 in Rothesay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat House

Property: Boat House
Address: 15 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly and good quality bed and breakfast that hopes to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing