We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely sea view”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely sea view”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

had a room with a sea view which lived up to its name. Room was a reasonable size and very clean. Staff very pleasant and approachable. Evening meal looking out over the sea was lovely and the food was very good with home made bread! Appreciated reduction offered due to boiler problem, good customer care. Small island but very pretty, some good walks. Very relaxing break.
No lift, which may pose problems for some people as all bedrooms are on the second or third floors.

Room Tip: opt for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    77
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
38
98
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for one night and were pleased with the location we came of the ferry and our hotel was almost straight across the road so not much walking required, we had had a call from the hotel the day before to say there boiler had burst and they had no hot water but we could use another hotel for a hot shower if required we were refunded twenty pounds for the inconvience we had a lovely room at the back and top of the hotel bright and airy, there was lots of complimentary toiletries, Bottled water a bowl of fruit chocolates and tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, very nice and much apprieciated touches. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning sitting overlooking rothesay bay just wonderful.All of the staff made you feel so welcome and were so friendly a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and a sea view would have been the icing on the cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kattom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. The stay was excellent, the accommodation and staff likewise. All in all the experience was first rate - just like the weather. A special mention has to go to the staff as they are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsvote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

stayed at the Victoria for one night for our anniversary. The hotel was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We had requested a room with sea view which was lovely and the little touches of fresh fruit and biscuits was nice. The room was spotless as was the bathroom with lovely fresh white towels and toiletries.

We ate in the restaurant at night, it was a lovely bright room the staff were lovely and friendly the food was really nice. Breakfast in the morning was lovely also with very attentive staff.

Would definitely go back as a lovely hotel in a great location with lovely views if you have a sea view room, only disadvantage is it doesn't have a lift.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATREN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Lovely hotel across the road from the ferry Terminal. Lovely and clean bedroom and en suite, well stocked hospitality tray and water replenished daily along with a bowl of fruit. Well stocked toiletries in bathroom. Fabulous see view. Comfortable bed. Lovely lounge area. Breakfast was superb with plenty of choices. Wi fi a bit slow but who cares when on holiday!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front as views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Victoria Hotel with a party of 17 for a six day break. The hotel is located close to the ferry terminal and is central for the facilities of the town.
The reception staff were very welcoming and most helpful, with the dining room team and bar staff courteous, pleasant and efficient. Nothing was a trouble.
The Victoria is a pleasant place to stay with wonderful views over Rothesay Bay from the lounges and dining rooms and the bedrooms are clean and adequate in every way.
The cuisine was of excellent quality with ample choice of dishes all beautifully presented.
All in all a very good experience with positive feedback from all who stayed and without question we shall return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Victorias has a good dining room with great views across Rothesay Bay. Our waitresses were polite and efficient and the food arrived in a timely manner. This was of a high standard, reasonably priced for the quality. We were not staying in the Hotel but all looked clean and well cared for.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ConradWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing