We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Bute has the distinction of being a truly wonderful place even in the rain, but, in the rain, best viewed from the comfort of a hotel bedroom or lounge when visiting. When the sun is shining it is stunningly beautiful. The Victoria Hotel is one such place to be when it is raining, a pleasant hotel with a clean comfortable room, nice food and friendly, helpful staff. Reasonably priced and certainly value for money.

I had a one night stay while in Rothesay on business and had an enjoyable evening meal, a great night’s sleep and an excellent breakfast. So it ticked all the boxes for a business trip. The only points to be aware about are; there is no lift, the bedrooms start on the second floor, and no “desk” type unit in my particular bedroom where one can sit and work. (Such are the needs of business travellers). I would certainly stay at the hotel again. It seems an excellent base for a holiday on the island. Also worth noting was a very well stocked bar with an excellent selection of some forty two good malt whiskies. Because I was working the next day I was not able to sample. If I could not drink them, at least I could count them!

Room Tip: Frint rooms ahve a nice view ove the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great location with very friendly staff throughout, who made us feel very welcome.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay, even if the weather broke when we arrived. The rooms are adequate rather than large but well maintained and clean. The fresh fruit in the room is a nice touch and the views (we were at the front) are amazing. The room was rather warm at night but the hotel provided a fan and ice in the room each day in the absence of a fridge.

Breakfast is plentiful and tasty and the chef accommodating, making toasted cheese for our daughter when she wanted an alternative cooked breakfast (there are already other alternatives to the fry up). Breakfast is even more enjoyable when you can sit at the large windows overlooking the sea, ferries and rolling hills. Dining at the hotel was excellent and we can recommend the food there, including the home made bread.

There's lots to see on the island and the hotel provides a great base for touring on foot, by bike or by car. At the end of the day it was nice to relax in the bar and the cocktails in the bar are very reasonably priced.

If we had a gripe it would be the lack of a lift (we were on the third floor) but to be honest it was only really a problem when carrying luggage and otherwise was good exercise!

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PKOK1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We went into the coffee shop / cocktail bar and settled in to a lovely comfortable sofa in the window. We picked up the sandwich menu, made our choice, and went to the bar to order sandwiches and coffees to be told that the chef isn't doing sandwiches today as he has a big function on upstairs - needless to say we walked out !!

Why have the menus on the tables if there is no service - even a notice on the door would help. As a tourist town I would have thought they would be glad of the trade, a poor reflection on the hotel and the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank margareth700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We are a bit surprised at receiving such a poor review and only for advising that we were extremely busy at the time of your visit and could not offer food service. Our upstairs restaurants were full and our kitchen was unable to service further orders until clear. It would be great never to turn away business although realistically, if you have reached capacity there is not much more that you can do. We will always strive to offer a warm welcome with excellent food and service. Incidently, our downstairs bistro/bar continued to serve cakes, refreshments and cocktails.We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is the second time that we have been to this hotel in Rothesay. You go up stairs and there is 2 restuarants but we always go to the restaurant on the right as you go up stairs. Staff are always friendly and the meals are excellent. We went yesterday (13th Aug) for a day trip with our nephew and 2 nieces.
Certainly would go back even if it was just for the meal as for Rothesay itself it is very tired and run down looking. This is a shame as Argyl & Bute have got a lovely garden area near the old toilets which is an Information centre along with the putting green (which we all had a go at).

Room Tip: I did not stay at this hotel but I reckon if you got rooms to front of hotel you will not be disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 481Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived unexpectedly and were met by Alison who went out of her way to organise our accommodation. She, and all the other staff, went "the extra mile" to make our stay most enjoyable. We had a front facing room with large picture windows and the views were spectacular over the gardens and out to the bay. We even thought the Calmac ferry was coming straight into our room but fortunately it turned at the last moment!. Fresh fruit, water and tea making facilities were all provided. Large bathroom with fluffy towels and nice toiletries.
Dinner and breakfast were served in a beautiful room, again with large picture windows. The choice for the meals was first class and portion size was large! Lounge and bar areas were both spacious and comfortable. Plenty of information of places to visit and things to do in the area.
This is a first rate Hotel which I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room. Spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Gaelic 'Thousand Welcomes' over the door belied the initial welcome, which was an immediate demand for the cash balance for our stay. In fairness it did state on the confirmation letter that the balance was payable in full at check-in, but it needed a more tactful approach, maybe something got lost in translation with the Polish receptionist. However things got a lot better thereafter.

The bedroom was spacious with wonderful views over the front and the winter gardens. Very smart bathroom with a good sized bath, plenty of fluffy towels, toiletries etc. Fruit bowl was provided and tea/coffee making facilities as well as chocolates. Public areas were on the first floor with comfortable leather settees and a well stocked bar. Breakfasts were excellent - wide choice including smokies and lovely views looking out over the front from the picture windows. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The drawback was a lot of stair climbing - fine as we were all reasonably fit,but could be a problem for lthe ess able. Parking was a case of finding a suitable public car park which could be a distance from the front entrance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor with great views over the bay and the winter gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

What a brilliant time me and my family had on this beautiful island but my visit was topped off with the excellent service we experienced on our stay at this lovely family owned hotel. Our overall stay was made all the better by the attention to detail by all the staff and anything we asked for was done with a smile at all times. Me and my family will definately be back !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pjwill1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#9 of 18 in Rothesay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: £78 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing